State of the Nation 2010

Role of the Report

The Science, Technology and Innovation Council's State of the Nation 2008 report on Canada's science, technology and innovation system set out a baseline from which Canada's innovation performance could be measured. This 2010 report allows us to track progress and continue efforts to understand how innovation happens in Canada.

Benchmarking builds an evidence base for action, puncturing complacency and prompting greater reflection. The State of the Nation 2010 report puts a greater focus on business innovation and the ways in which other participants in the innovation system work in partnership with companies. The report delves deeper to benchmark industry sector research and development on an international basis. It looks at product, process, and organizational innovation as well as investments in information and communications technologies goods and services. Canadians face choices in innovation that will create wealth in our country and improve the quality of life for individuals. Where should we focus to make innovation gains? How can Canada's science, technology and innovation system support these efforts? How can individual actions be leveraged to strengthen our ability to innovate and compete? This report aims to inform these considerations and decisions.

2010 STIC Council

Dr. Howard Alper
Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council
Dr. Francesco Bellini
Chairman, Picchio International Inc.
Mr. Eric Bergeron
President and CEO, Optosecurity Inc.
Mr. Richard Dicerni
Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
Mr. David Fissel
President and CEO, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.
Dr. Peter MacKinnon
President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Saskatchewan
Dr. Terence Matthews
Chair, Mitel / Chair, Wesley Clover Corporation
Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum
Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University
Mr. David O'Brien
Chair, Encana Corporation and Chair, Royal Bank of Canada
Mr. J. Robert S. Prichard
Vice Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council; Chair, Torys LLP and Chair, Board of Directors, Metrolinx
Dr. Guy Rouleau
MD, PhD; Canada Research Chair in Genetics of the Nervous System and Professor, Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal; Director, Research Centre, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
Dr. W.A. (Sam) Shaw
President and CEO, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (to October 2010)
Dr. Molly Shoichet
Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering and Professor, University of Toronto
Dr. Mihaela Ulieru
Canada Research Chair, Adaptive Information Infrastructures for the eSociety; Director, Adaptive Risk Management Lab and Professor, Faculty of Computer Science, University of New Brunswick
Dr. Harvey P. Weingarten
President and CEO, Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario; President Emeritus, University of Calgary
Mr. Rob Wildeboer
Executive Chairman, Martinrea International Inc.