State of the Nation 2012

Science, Technology and Innovation Council: Mandate and Members

The Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC) was created in 2007 to serve as the Government of Canada’s external advisory body in the domain of science, technology and innovation (STI). The Council has a dual mandate: to provide the government with confidential advice on STI policy issues critical to Canada’s economic development and societal well-being; and to produce biennial public reports—State of the Nation—measuring Canada’s STI performance against international standards of excellence.

Current Members
Howard Alper Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council
David Agnew President, Seneca College
Amit Chakma President, Western University
Sophie Forest Managing Partner, Brightspark Ventures
George Gosbee Chairman and CEO, AltaCorp Capital Inc.
Arvind Gupta CEO and Scientific Director, Mitacs Inc.; Professor of Computer Science, University of British Columbia
Maureen Kempston Darkes Group Vice President, General Motors Corporation (retired); past President and General Manager, General Motors of Canada Limited
Simon Kennedy Deputy Minister of International Trade, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
John Knubley Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
Terence Matthews Chair, Mitel; Chair, Wesley Clover
Heather Munroe-Blum Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University
Simon Pimstone President and Chief Executive Officer, Xenon Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Indira S. Samarasekera President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Alberta
Molly Shoichet Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering; Professor, University of Toronto
Annette Verschuren Chair and CEO, NRStor Inc.
Rob Wildeboer Executive Chairman, Martinrea International Inc.
Glenda Yeates Deputy Minister, Health Canada


Past Members*
(active on Council during part of the period since the release of State of the Nation 2010)
Eric Bergeron President and CEO, Optosecurity Inc.
Richard Dicerni Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
Marye Anne Fox Chancellor Emerita, University of California, San Diego
Louis Lévesque Deputy Minister, International Trade
Peter MacKinnon President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Saskatchewan
David P. O'Brien Chair, Encana Corporation; Chair, Royal Bank of Canada
J. Robert S. Prichard Vice-Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council; Chair, Torys LLP
Guy Rouleau Canada Research Chair in Genetics of the Nervous System; Professor, Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal; Director, Research Centre, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
Neil Turok Director, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

* Affiliations noted are those at the time of the members' terms on STIC.