State of the Nation 2014

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation System: Canada's Innovation Challenges and Opportunities

Mandate and Members

The Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC) was created in 2007 to serve as the Government of Canada's external advisory body in the domain of science, technology and innovation (ST&I). The Council has a dual mandate: to provide the government with confidential advice on ST&I policy issues critical to Canada's economic development and societal well-being; and to produce regular public reports — State of the Nation — measuring Canada's ST&I performance against international standards of excellence.

The Council would like to extend its sincere thanks to Howard Alper, Past Chair, and to Harvey Weingarten, President and CEO of the Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario, for their invaluable contributions to this report.

Science, Technology and Innovation Council Members
Name Title
Elizabeth Cannon President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Calgary
Amit Chakma President, Western University
Sophie Forest Managing Partner, Brightspark Ventures
Suzanne Fortier Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University
Donna Garbutt Chief Executive Officer, Maxxam Analytics Inc.
Arvind Gupta Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of British Columbia
Monique Haakensen President and Principal Scientist, Contango Strategies Ltd.
Chil-Yong Kang Molecular Virologist and Professor of Virology, Western University
Maureen Kempston Darkes Group Vice-President, General Motors Corporation (retired); past President and General Manager, General Motors of Canada Limited
Simon Kennedy Deputy Minister, Health Canada
Kenneth Knox Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council
John Knubley Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Raymond Laflamme Director, Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo
Joy P. Romero Vice-President, Technology and Innovation, Canadian Natural Resources Limited
Jacquelyn Thayer Scott Past President and Professor of Organization Management, Cape Breton University
Ilse Treurnicht Chief Executive Officer, MaRS Discovery District
Peter van der Gracht Chairman, Wavefront
Nancy Venneman President and Founder, Altitude Aerospace Inc.
Annette Verschuren Chair and Chief Executive Officer, NRStor Inc.