State of the Nation 2008

Innovation in Canada takes place in many sectors and stages of the value chain

Forestry

Forestry
Canada's forest industry is working to increase the value of its resource by building flexibility into planning and manufacturing. Through one of their many R&D programs FPInnovations helps companies weigh the benefits of adopting advanced planning systems and flexible manufacturing techniques to improve efficiency and increase production of more profitable specialty grade products.

Energy – Oil and Gas Sector

Energy — Oil and Gas Sector
Proving and piloting technologies on a real world scale is an important step before major investments are made in commercial facilities. In the oil and gas industry this step in the technology development value chain is characterized by a small number of high cost projects. Canada has such projects under way on unconventional natural gas development for coal bed methane and shale gas, and for the capture and storage of carbon emissions.


Transportation - Hydrogen and Fuel Cells

Transportation — Hydrogen and Fuel Cells
British Columbia's Hydrogen Highway vision is to accelerate the commercialization of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies. The Hydrogen Highway features five operational fuelling stations and numerous hydrogen and fuel cell products including cars, pickup trucks, shuttle buses, forklifts and mobile hydrogen stations. BC Transit's demonstration fleet of 20 hydrogen fuel cell buses will provide regular transit service in Whistler, a site of the 2010 Olympic Winter Games. Hydrogen fuel cell buses produce no smog-creating emissions and no greenhouse gas emissions, and they can be twice as efficient as internal combustion engines.


Financial Services

Financial Services
Service sector innovations can result in broad economic impacts and help individuals. New financial services may facilitate transactions and capital allocation, leading to widespread gains in productivity. The invention of mutual funds gave consumers an investment vehicle to diversify investment portfolios with a relatively small investment. Scotiabank has developed a new savings program that lets people automatically round up every purchase made using a Scotiabank debit card to the next multiple of $1 or $5. The roundup amount chosen is automatically transferred to a savings account helping customers achieve their savings goals.


Media

Media
The Internet and electronic media have been catalysts for innovation in the newspaper industry. The availability of free online news has contributed to a decline in readership for printed newspapers, squeezing sales revenues and the emergence of free online bulletin boards has been cutting demand for classified ad space, another important source of revenue. To address these competitive pressures, many newspapers have established significant online presences reinventing themselves through innovative business models. Canadian newspapers are experimenting with combinations of free online content, subscriptions, writer's blogs, and discussion fora in which readers can voice their opinions on recent articles.


Entertainment

Entertainment
Montréal-based circus entertainment company Cirque du Soleil is now an international company with annual revenue exceeding US$700 million and more than 4000 employees including 1000 artists from over 40 countries. Cirque's International Headquarters (IHQ) is a world-class creative laboratory. Still mainly dedicated to creating live shows and presenting them in venues ranging from big tops to arenas, Cirque du Soleil will have 19 different shows performing around the world in 2009. Cirque is committed to integrating excellence in the performing arts with state-of-the-art international technology. Geodezik, a Montréal-based multimedia design and production company, used the award-winning Pandora's Box Media and Showcontrol system to provide video system and content design for the Cirque's first permanent show in Asia, ZAIA. ZAIA tells the story of a young girl's journey through interstellar space, blending light and 3-D visual elements into each scene.


Design and Marketing

Design and Marketing
Design is a new and underestimated aspect of innovation. The success or failure of new products, based on technological innovation, may depend on their design. Design can address existing needs for example, ergonomic keyboards, or be for purely aesthetic purposes. Graphic design and marketing services derive much of their value from the novelty of the service being provided, and so are innovation-driven industries.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2008

On innove au Canada dans de nombreux secteurs et à de nombreux points de la chaîne de valeur

Foresterie

Foresterie
L'industrie forestière du Canada s'efforce d'accroître la valeur de sa ressource en intégrant de la flexibilité dans la planification et la fabrication. Grâce à l'un de ses nombreux programmes de R-D, FPInnovations aide les entreprises à apprécier les bienfaits de l'adoption de systèmes de planification modernes et de techniques de fabrication flexibles pour gagner en efficacité et accroître la production de produits spécialisés plus rentables.


Énergie - Pétrole et gaz naturel

Énergie — Pétrole et gaz naturel
Éprouver et mettre à l'essai des technologies en situation réelle est une étape importante avant d'investir de grosses sommes dans des installations commerciales. Dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz naturel, cette étape de la chaîne de valeur du développement technologique se caractérise par un petit nombre de projets très coûteux. Des projets de cette nature sont en cours au Canada pour utiliser du gaz naturel non conventionnel dans la production de méthane de houille et de gaz de schiste ainsi que pour le captage et le stockage du carbone.


Transport - Hydrogène et piles à combustible

Transport — Hydrogène et piles à combustible
Le projet d'autoroute de l'hydrogène (Hydrogen Highway) de la Colombie-Britannique est destiné à accélérer la commercialisation des technologies de l'hydrogène et des piles à combustible. Il comprend cinq stations d'avitaillement opérationnelles et de nombreux produits fonctionnant à l'hydrogène ou aux piles à combustible, comme des automobiles, des camionnettes, des bus-navettes, des chariots élévateurs et des stations d'hydrogène mobiles. La flotte de démonstration de BC Transit composée de 20 autobus à pile à hydrogène assurera un service régulier à Whistler pendant les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010 Les autobus à pile à hydrogène ne rejettent aucune émission productrice de smog ou de gaz à effet de serre et ils peuvent être deux fois plus efficients que les autobus à moteur à combustion interne.


Services financiers

Services financiers
L'innovation dans le secteur des services peut avoir des incidences économiques générales et aider les particuliers. Les nouveaux services financiers peuvent faciliter les transactions et l'affectation du capital, ce qui peut déboucher sur des gains de productivité à grande échelle. L'invention des fonds communs de placement a donné aux consommateurs un outil qui leur permet de diversifier leurs portefeuilles avec des sommes relativement minimes. La Banque Scotia a mis au point un nouveau programme d'épargne qui permet aux gens d'arrondir automatiquement à 1 $ ou à 5 $ chacun des achats qu'ils effectuent avec une carte de débit de la banque. La somme supplémentaire choisie pour arrondir le paiement est automatiquement versée sur un compte d'épargne, ce qui aide les consommateurs à épargner.


Médias

Médias
Internet et les médias électroniques sont des catalyseurs de l'innovation dans le secteur des journaux. L'accès gratuit aux nouvelles par Internet contribue au déclin du lectorat de la presse écrite, ce qui comprime les recettes des ventes de journaux, et l'émergence de bulletins d'information en ligne gratuits entraîne une réduction de la publicité dans les quotidiens, autre source importante de recettes. Face à ces pressions concurrentielles, de nombreux journaux se sont eux aussi établis en ligne et se sont réinventés avec des modèles commerciaux innovateurs. Les journaux canadiens mènent des expériences diverses en ligne, combinant l'offre d'articles gratuits, des abonnements, des blogues de journalistes et des tribunes de discussion qui permettent aux lecteurs de donner leur avis sur les articles récents.


Loisirs

Loisirs
Le Cirque du Soleil, troupe de cirque de Montréal, est aujourd'hui une entreprise internationale qui réalise un chiffre d'affaires annuel de plus de 700 millions de dollars américains et qui compte plus de 4 000 employés, dont 1 000 artistes d'une quarantaine de pays. Son siège social international est un laboratoire de créativité de tout premier ordre. En 2009, tout en restant dévoué à la création de spectacles en direct présentés aussi bien dans des stades que sous des chapiteaux, le Cirque du Soleil proposera 19 spectacles différents dans le monde. Le Cirque est déterminé à intégrer l'excellence dans les arts du spectacle en ayant recours à une technologie internationale de pointe. Geodezik, société de conception et de production multimédia de Montréal, a utilisé le système primé Pandora's Box Media and Showcontrol pour le premier spectacle permanent du Cirque en Asie, ZAIA, qui raconte le voyage d'une jeune fille dans l'espace interstellaire en intégrant la lumière et des éléments visuels en 3D dans chaque scène.


Design et marketing

Design et marketing
Le design, ou conception, est un aspect nouveau et sous-estimé de l'innovation. Le succès ou l'échec d'un nouveau produit reposant sur l'innovation technologique peut dépendre directement de son design. Le design peut répondre à un besoin existant, par exemple dans le cas de claviers ergonomiques, ou procéder d'un souci purement esthétique. La valeur des services de graphisme et de marketing découle en grande mesure de la nouveauté du service offert, ce qui fait de ces services des industries fondées sur l'innovation.