State of the Nation 2008

3. Foundations for Innovation — Elements of the Innovation System

3.1 Supporting Good Performance

A healthy innovation system requires the right conditions:

Supportive Marketplace Frameworks — Policies and practices that create strong, open, competitive domestic markets where ideas can be taken from conception to application.

Engaged Citizens — Individuals and businesses that demand better quality products and services, for themselves and their communities driving manufacturers and service providers to become more innovative.6

Highly Skilled People — People who have leading edge research skills and people who know how to put new technology to work.

Infrastructure — A modern physical and regulatory infrastructure to ensure the free flow of goods, services and ideas.7

Accurate Measures of Performance — Statistics that better reflect plans, activities, linkages and outcomes of innovation so that we can determine the full impact of innovation on the Canadian economy, and measure how well we are doing against global competition.

Underpinning these conditions is the vital need for collaboration. Greater cooperation and collaboration between the private sector, universities and colleges, all levels of government, and others8 at the regional and national levels strengthen a nation's ability to compete at the international level. Collaboration is also vital to foster multidisciplinary research, which is integral to the knowledge-based economy.

MaRS Innovation

MaRS Innovation

To succeed in global innovation, Canada has to create more homegrown commercialization success stories.

Enter MaRS Discovery District: a Toronto-based public-private partnership.

As a non-profit innovation centre, MaRS connects science, technology and social entrepreneurs with business skills, networks and capital to stimulate innovation and accelerate the creation and growth of successful Canadian enterprises.

This happens physically at the 700 000 sq. ft. MaRS Centre, which is home to a mix of research labs, companies of all sizes — including multinationals, Canada's largest bank and venture capital firms — as well as more broadly through hands-on market research and other advisory services for entrepreneurs, inventive programming and an expanding electronic community.

Anchored by major teaching hospitals, the University of Toronto and more than two dozen affiliated research institutes, the MaRS Centre attracts interest and delegations from across Canada and around the world.

Recent work in the U.S. by Fred Block and Matthew Keller at the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, which looked at the extent of collaboration between organizations for winners of R&D Magazine's "R&D 100 Awards" from 1971 to 2006, found that:

Whereas the lion's share of the R&D 100 Award-winning U.S. innovations in the 1970s came from corporations acting on their own, most of the R&D 100 Award-winning U.S. innovations in the last two decades have come from partnerships involving business and government, including federal labs and federally funded university research. Indeed, in the 1970s, approximately 80 percent of the award-winning U.S. innovations were from large firms acting on their own. Today, approximately two-thirds of the award-winning U.S. innovations involve some kind of interorganizational collaboration — a situation that reflects the more collaborative nature of the innovation process and the greater role in private sector innovation by government agencies, federal laboratories, and research universities.9

Intense global competition and the rising cost of R&D are changing how companies innovate, and increasing the need to collaborate across firms, universities and governments. More information about the importance of firm collaboration and Canada's performance on this measure is discussed in Section 4.1 of this report.

In order for our innovation system to realize its full potential, all elements must work together to create and nurture the overall conditions under which innovation can thrive in all sectors of the system. Governments have a crucial role to play in encouraging coordination and promotion of S&T. The STIC views the provision of its advice as an opportunity to spur collaboration between the different elements of the science, technology and innovation system.


6 This ranges from a citizen demanding better health care to an individual consumer who buys a product from a store to a large corporation that purchases input parts from suppliers.

7 While Canada was among countries with the highest levels of infrastructure in the OECD as of 2000, its position has been slipping in recent years. Centre for the Study of Living Standards, Assessing Canada's Ability to Compete for Foreign Direct Investment, paper commissioned by the Competition Policy Review Panel, 2008.

8 Including health charities, not-for-profit organizations, etc.

9 Fred Block and Matthew Keller, Where do innovations come from? Transformations in the U.S. national innovation system, 1970-2006 (Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, July 2008); pp. 2-3.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2008

3. Fondements de l'innovation — Éléments du système d'innovation

3.1 Des conditions favorables

Un bon système d'innovation nécessite des conditions propices.

Des structures de marché favorables, c'est-à-dire des politiques et des pratiques qui encouragent le développement de marchés intérieurs solides, ouverts et concurrentiels, où les nouvelles idées peuvent aboutir à des applications concrètes.

Des citoyens avertis, c'est-à-dire des particuliers et des entreprises qui, en exigeant des produits et des services de meilleure qualité pour eux-mêmes et pour leur collectivité, incitent les fabricants et les fournisseurs de services à innover davantage6.

Une main-d'œuvre très qualifiée, c'est-à-dire des gens qui ont des compétences en recherche très pointues et des gens qui savent comment utiliser la nouvelle technologie.

Une infrastructure moderne, tant au niveau matériel que réglementaire, afin de faciliter la libre circulation des biens, des services et des idées7.

Des indicateurs de rendement fiables, c'est-à-dire des statistiques qui mesurent de façon plus rigoureuse les plans, les activités, les corrélations et les résultats de l'innovation, afin que nous soyons en mesure de déterminer l'incidence totale de l'innovation sur l'économie canadienne et de mesurer nos progrès face à la concurrence internationale.

Mais la clé de voûte de toutes ces conditions est une plus grande collaboration entre le secteur privé, les universités et collèges, tous les ordres de gouvernement et d'autres intervenants8 au niveau régional et national, car c'est la collaboration qui renforce la capacité d'un pays à affronter la concurrence sur les marchés internationaux. La collaboration est également indispensable pour encourager la recherche multidisciplinaire, laquelle fait partie intégrante de l'économie du savoir.

Centre d'innovation MaRS

Le Centre d'innovation MaRS

Pour réussir en matière d'innovation internationale, le Canada doit d'abord réussir à mieux commercialiser les innovations sur son propre territoire.

C'est là qu'intervient MaRS Discovery District, partenariat public-privé qui a son siège à Toronto.

Centre d'innovation à but non lucratif, MaRS sert de passerelle entre les sciences, la technologie et les entrepreneurs, d'une part, et les compétences commerciales, les réseaux et les capitaux nécessaires pour stimuler l'innovation et accélérer la création et le développement d'entreprises canadiennes prospères, d'autre part.

Tout cela se passe, concrètement, dans les 700 000 pieds carrés du Centre MaRS, qui abrite des laboratoires de recherche et des entreprises de toute taille — y compris des multinationales, la plus grande banque canadienne et des sociétés de capital-risque. Le Centre réalise également des études de marché et il offre aux entrepreneurs des services consultatifs, des programmes novateurs et une communauté électronique en plein essor.

Rattaché aux principaux hôpitaux universitaires, à l'Université de Toronto et à près d'une vingtaine d'instituts de recherches affiliés, le Centre MaRS reçoit régulièrement des délégations en raison de l'intérêt qu'il suscite au Canada et dans le monde entier.

Fred Block et Matthew Keller, tous deux chercheurs à l'Information Technology and Innovation Foundation aux États-Unis, ont étudié l'ampleur de la collaboration entre organisations chez les lauréats des « R&D 100 Awards » décernés par le R&D Magazine entre 1971 et 2006. Ils ont constaté ce qui suit :

Dans les années 1970, la grande majorité des prix sont allés à des entreprises américaines pour des innovations apportées intra-muros. Par contre, au cours des deux dernières décennies, la majorité de ces prix sont allés à des partenariats public-privé, notamment à des partenariats entre des laboratoires fédéraux et des travaux de recherches universitaires financés par le fédéral. Autrement dit, dans les années 1970, environ 80 % des innovations américaines couronnées par ces prix venaient de grandes entreprises qui fonctionnaient en vase clos. Aujourd'hui, environ les deux tiers des innovations américaines couronnées par ces prix sont plus ou moins le résultat d'une collaboration entre organisations, ce qui signifie que le processus d'innovation participe davantage de la collaboration et que les organismes publics, les laboratoires fédéraux et les départements de recherche universitaires jouent un plus grand rôle dans l'innovation du secteur privé9.

La concurrence internationale intense et l'augmentation des coûts de la R-D modifient la façon dont les entreprises innovent et rendent encore plus indispensable leur collaboration avec les universités et les gouvernements. Nous reviendrons plus en détail sur l'importance de la collaboration des entreprises et sur la performance du Canada à cet égard à la section 4.1 du présent rapport.

Pour assurer l'optimisation de notre système d'innovation, nous devons veiller à ce que tous les éléments contribuent à la création et au maintien de conditions générales nécessaires pour que l'innovation se développe dans tous les secteurs du système. Les gouvernements ont un rôle crucial à jouer pour ce qui est d'encourager la coordination et la promotion des S-T. Quant au CSTI, il estime que, par ses conseils, il peut encourager la collaboration entre les différents éléments du système des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation.


6 Cela va du citoyen qui exige de meilleurs soins de santé au consommateur qui achète un produit dans un magasin, en passant par la grande entreprise qui achète des pièces détachées à des équipementiers.

7 En 2000, le Canada se classait parmi les pays de l'OCDE dotés des meilleures infrastructures, mais depuis quelques années, il recule dans le classement (voir Centre d'étude des niveaux de vie, Assessing Canada's Ability to Compete for Foreign Direct Investment, recherche commandée par le Groupe d'étude sur les politiques en matière de concurrence, 2008).

8 Y compris les organismes de bienfaisance dans le domaine de la santé, les organismes à but non lucratif, etc.

9 F. Block et M. Keller, Where do innovations come from? Transformations in the U.S. national innovation system, 1970-2006 , Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, juillet 2008, p. 2-3. On peut consulter l'article en ligne.