State of the Nation 2008

3. Foundations for Innovation — Elements of the Innovation System

3.2 The Importance of Healthy Communities

As recent studies have shown, talented people (those who play the lead role in knowledge-intensive production and innovation; and provide the ideas, know-how, creativity and imagination so crucial to economic success) are not spread equally across nations, but tend to concentrate within particular city regions. The most successful city regions are the ones that have a social environment that is open to creativity and diversity of all sorts. Communities of creative people active in arts and culture that are open to diverse ethnic, racial and lifestyle groups, provide distinct advantages to regions generating innovation, growing and attracting high-technology industries and spurring economic growth.10

Canada's respect for diversity and our engaged citizenry attract talented and creative people from all nations. Canada is a top destination for highly skilled immigrants. In 2004, Canadians donated an estimated $8.9 billion to charity, an average of $400 each and contributed a total of two billion hours to voluntary efforts, the equivalent to one million full-time jobs.11 Residents have access to high quality and comprehensive public health and education systems. According to the United Nations Human Development Index 2007, which combines social and economic well-being indicators, Canada ranks fourth among 177 nations. A liveability study, published by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) in the summer of 2008, awarded Vancouver first place, while Toronto placed fifth and Calgary placed seventh out of 123 cities.12 Finally, according to Mercer's 2008 Quality of Life Survey,13 which compares 215 cities based on 39 criteria, Vancouver ranks 5th, Toronto 15th, Ottawa 19th, Montréal 22nd and Calgary 25th. Canadian cities rank high because they benefit from good infrastructure, plenty of recreational activities, low crime rates and relatively low population density.

Tracking Water Contaminants to Their Source Protects Health

Safe drinking water is essential to the health of Canada's population. The outbreaks of disease and death in recent years due to contaminated drinking water have greatly heightened Canadians' concerns over water-borne disease. Dr. Asit Mazumder, a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Industry Research Chair in Water at the University of Victoria, led a four-year Canadian Institute of Health Research funded collaborative study to track the sources of coliform bacteria contamination in several watersheds in Okanagan and Salt Spring Island in British Columbia. To ensure knowledge transfer, Dr. Mazumder's research team partnered directly with federal and provincial government departments, industries (forestry and livestock) and municipalities.

As a result of the study, Dr. Mazumder's lab developed a unique risk assessment tool for measuring potential damage to water supplies from fecal (human, livestock and wildlife) contamination of source water. The new approach combines the use of molecular (DNA) markers with biochemical and geochemical markers of septic and sewage origins. The tool is currently in use, through cooperation with Dr. Mazumder's lab, in several British Columbia municipalities, such as Victoria, Kamloops, Vernon, Prince Rupert, and Kelowna. His lab is currently working with federal and community partners to characterize and model safety of groundwater in First Nations communities across Canada. In the summer of 2009, Dr. Mazumder will present the risk assessment tool to researchers and managers at the International Symposium on Environmental Science and Technology in China.


10 Meric S. Gertler, Richard Florida, Gary Gates, and Tara Vinodrai, Competing on Creativity: Placing Ontario's Cities in North American Context. A report prepared for the Ontario Ministry of Enterprise, Opportunity and Innovation and the Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity, November 2002, p. ii.

11 Statistics Canada, Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Highlights from the 2004 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating, Catalogue no. 71-542-XIE, June 2006, pp. 9-10.

12 In the EIU's list, Ottawa and Edmonton also ranked within the top 25.

13 Mercer's list is especially important, since it is often used by companies to determine where they will open plants or offices and how much they pay their employees.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2008

3. Fondements de l'innovation — Éléments du système d'innovation

3.2 L'importance de collectivités saines

Comme l'indiquent des études récentes, les gens talentueux (c'est-à-dire ceux qui jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la production et l'innovation basées sur le savoir, et qui possèdent les idées, le savoir-faire, la créativité et l'imagination tellement essentiels au succès économique) ne sont pas répartis également dans les pays. En fait, ils ont tendance à se concentrer dans certaines régions métropolitaines. Les plus dynamiques sont celles dont l'environnement social favorise la créativité et la diversité sous toutes leurs formes. Les communautés de gens créatifs et sensibles aux arts et à la culture, qui ont intégré des groupes d'origines ethniques, raciales et sociales différentes, dynamisent les régions, ce qui les encourage à innover et les aide à attirer et à développer des industries de haute technologie et à stimuler la croissance économique10.

Le respect du Canada pour la diversité et ses citoyens avertis font que notre pays attire des gens talentueux et créatifs venus de tous les coins de la planète. En fait, le Canada est une destination de choix pour les immigrants hautement qualifiés. En 2004, on estime que les Canadiens ont donné 8,9 milliards de dollars à des œuvres caritatives, soit une moyenne de 400 $ par habitant, et qu'ils ont fait un total de 2 milliards d'heures de bénévolat, soit l'équivalent d'un million d'emplois à temps plein11. En matière de santé et d'éducation, la population canadienne a accès à des systèmes publics complets et de grande qualité. Selon l'Indice de développement humain des Nations Unies de 2007, qui combine des indicateurs de bien-être social et économique, le Canada se classe au quatrième rang parmi 177 pays. Selon une étude sur la qualité de vie publiée par l'Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) à l'été 2008, Vancouver arrive à la première place, Toronto à la cinquième, et Calgary à la septième, sur un total de 123 villes12. Enfin, dans le Quality of Life Survey de 2008 de Mercer13, qui compare 215 villes en fonction de 39 critères, Vancouver arrive au cinquième rang, Toronto au 15e, Ottawa au 19e, Montréal au 22e et Calgary au 25e. Les villes canadiennes obtiennent un bon classement en raison de la qualité de leurs infrastructures, de l'abondance des activités de loisirs, des faibles taux de criminalité et d'une densité démographique relativement faible.

Détection des contaminants de l'eau à la source pour protéger la santé

L'eau potable est essentielle à la santé des Canadiens. Les flambées de maladie et les décès dus, au cours des dernières années, à de l'eau potable contaminée font que les Canadiens s'inquiètent beaucoup plus au sujet des maladies hydriques. Le Dr Asit Mazumder, chercheur à l'Université de Victoria et titulaire d'une chaire de recherche industrielle en gestion environnementale de l'eau du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, a dirigé une étude collective de quatre ans financée par l'Institut de recherche en santé du Canada qui visait à détecter les sources de contamination par des bactéries coliformes de plusieurs bassins hydrologiques de l'Okanagan et de Salt Spring Island, en Colombie-Britannique. Pour assurer le transfert des connaissances, l'équipe de recherche du Dr Mazumder a collaboré directement avec les ministères fédéraux et provinciaux, avec les industries (foresterie et élevage du bétail) et avec les municipalités.

Suite à cette étude, le laboratoire du Dr Mazumder a mis au point un tout nouvel outil pour mesurer les risques de contamination de l'eau par des matières fécales (humaines et animales). Il utilise des marqueurs moléculaires (ADN) et des marqueurs biochimiques et géochimiques provenant des eaux usées. Il est actuellement utilisé, en collaboration avec le laboratoire du Dr Mazumder, dans plusieurs municipalités de la Colombie-Britannique, comme Victoria, Kamloops, Vernon, Prince Rupert et Kelowna. Avec des partenaires fédéraux et communautaires, son laboratoire étudie actuellement les eaux souterraines des communautés des Premières nations du Canada. À l'été 2009, il présentera son outil d'évaluation des risques à des chercheurs et des gestionnaires participant au Symposium international des sciences et de la technologie de l'environnement, qui se tiendra en Chine.


10 M. S. Gertler, R. Florida, G. Gates et T. Vinodrai, Competing on Creativity: Placing Ontario's Cities in North American Context. Un rapport préparé pour l'Ontario Ministry of Enterprise, Opportunity and Innovation et l'Institute for Competitiveness & Prosperity, novembre 2002, p. ii.

11 Statistique Canada, Canadiens dévoués, Canadiens engagés : points saillants de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation, numéro au catalogue 71-542-XIE, juin 2006, p. 9-10.

12 Dans la liste de l'EIU, Ottawa et Edmonton se trouvent également parmi les 25 villes en tête du classement.

13 La liste de Mercer est d'autant plus importante que les entreprises la consultent souvent pour déterminer le lieu d'implantation de leurs usines ou bureaux ainsi que le salaire qu'elles donnent à leurs employés.