State of the Nation 2008

3. Foundations for Innovation — Elements of the Innovation System

3.5 Resources for Research and Development

A commonly used measure of a country's innovation performance is the share of national R&D expenditures (gross domestic expenditures on R&D GERD) relative to the size of that country's GDP. While this is a somewhat crude measure, it is useful as a benchmark of a country's overall international standing. This measure has been used as a target by various national science, technology and innovation strategies around the world.

In 2006, R&D expenditures accounted for some 1.9 percent of Canada's GDP. This share was around 18 percent higher than the share in 1996. Over the same period, the average share of R&D expenditures in the G-7 grew from around 2 percent to around 2.2 percent. Figure 2 shows that while Canada is catching up, R&D as a share of Canadian GDP still lags behind the G-7 average, and this share is substantially behind the share in leading innovative countries such as Finland, South Korea and the U.S.17 Increasing Canada's research intensity and fostering an innovative economy will require concerted and coordinated efforts by the three principal Canadian R&D performing sectors: the private sector, the higher education sector and government. Figure 3 shows the growth of R&D spending by each of these sectors from 1997-2007.

Figure 2, on national R&D expenditures as a percentage of GDP, shows that Finland and Korea both had very strong levels of R&D/GDP growth from 1996-2006. In both of these countries, business-performed R&D as a share of GDP grew considerably over this period, contributing 75 percent and 80 percent, respectively, of the total national increase in R&D spending. In the U.S., growth in business R&D contributed to 68 percent of the total growth in R&D over this period. The story was similar in Germany, another G-7 country, where growth in business R&D accounted for 76 percent of total national R&D growth from 1996-2006. In Canada, growth in business R&D was responsible for just over half of the growth in total R&D over this period: business performance of R&D grew from just under $8 billion in 1996 to just over $14 billion in 2006.18 However, Canadian university R&D had the fastest growth rate over this period.

While R&D is used as a proxy for innovation, it does not tell the whole story. According to Statistics Canada, in 2005, 34 percent of manufacturing companies with 20 or more employees in Canada performed R&D, while more than 60 percent engaged in innovation.19 This suggests that many companies are bringing value to the market by using knowledge that does not necessarily come from R&D. Innovation strategies, therefore, should take account of knowledge gained through learning by doing and using, and through contacts and collaboration outside the firm.


17 OECD, Main Science and Technology Indicators, 2008/1.

18 Statistics Canada, CANSIM table 358-0001, Gross domestic expenditures on research and development, by science type and by funder and performer sector, Downloaded December 2008.

19 Statistics Canada, Survey of innovation, logging and manufacturing industries, percentage of innovative plants, occasional, CANSIM table 358-0062; Statistics Canada, Custom data request, Business Register enterprise counts 20 or more employees December 1997 to 2007 and Research and Development in Canadian Industry, 2008 frozen base with firms performing R&D counts to 2005.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2008

3. Fondements de l'innovation — Éléments du système d'innovation

3.5 Ressources pour la recherche-développement

On mesure généralement la performance en matière d'innovation d'un pays en fonction des dépenses qu'il fait en R-D (dépenses intérieures brutes en R-DDIRD) par rapport à son PIB. Quoiqu'un peu empirique, cette mesure permet de situer la performance d'un pays par rapport à un autre, et c'est elle qu'on utilise dans les stratégies en sciences, technologie et innovation de divers pays du monde.

En 2006, les dépenses en R-D représentaient 1,9 % du PIB du Canada, soit environ 18 % de plus qu'en 1996. Dans le même temps, les dépenses en R-D des pays du G7 sont passées de 2 à 2,2 % environ. La figure 2 montre que, malgré un rattrapage, le pourcentage du PIB que le Canada consacre à la R-D reste inférieur à la moyenne des pays du G7, et qu'il est nettement inférieur à celui de pays à l'avant-garde de l'innovation comme la Finlande, la Corée et les États-Unis17. L'intensification de la recherche au Canada et l'instauration d'une économie innovatrice nécessiteront des efforts concertés des trois grands secteurs qui font de la R-D au Canada, à savoir le secteur privé, le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur et les gouvernements. La figure 3 montre la croissance des dépenses de R- D dans chacun de ces secteurs entre 1997 et 2007.

Dans la figure 2, qui présente les dépenses nationales en R-D en pourcentage du PIB, on voit que la Finlande et la Corée ont enregistré toutes les deux une forte croissance de leur ratio R-D/PIB entre 1996 et 2006, surtout pour ce qui est de la R-D des entreprises, qui représente 75 % et 80 % respectivement de l'augmentation totale des dépenses en R-D dans ces pays. Aux États-Unis, la croissance des dépenses en R-D du secteur privé représente 68 % de la croissance totale des dépenses en R-D pendant cette période. On remarque la même évolution en Allemagne, autre pays du G7 où la croissance de la R-D des entreprises représente 76 % de la croissance des dépenses en R-D au niveau national entre 1996 et 2006. Au Canada, la croissance de la R-D des entreprises représente un peu plus de la moitié de la croissance de la R-D nationale pendant cette période. En effet, les dépenses de R-D des entreprises sont passées d'un peu moins de 8 milliards de dollars en 1996 à un peu plus de 14 milliards en 200618. Signalons, toutefois, que c'est la R-D effectuée par les universités canadiennes qui a enregistré le plus fort taux de croissance pendant cette période.

Même si la R-D est une mesure de l'innovation, elle n'en est qu'une mesure partielle. En 2005, selon Statistique Canada, 34 % des entreprises de fabrication canadiennes qui comptaient 20 employés ou plus faisaient de la R-D, alors que plus de 60 % innovaient19. On peut en déduire qu'un grand nombre d'entreprises ajoutent de la valeur à un produit en utilisant des connaissances qui ne viennent pas nécessairement de la R-D. Les stratégies d'innovation devraient donc tenir compte des connaissances acquises sur le tas ainsi que des connaissances acquises par les contacts et la collaboration externes.


17 OCDE, Principaux indicateurs de la science et de la technologie, 2008/1.

18 Statistique Canada, tableau CANSIM 358-0001, Les dépenses intérieures brutes en recherche et développement, selon le type de science et selon le secteur de financement et le secteur d'exécution. Téléchargé en décembre 2008.

19 Statistique Canada, Enquête sur l'innovation, secteur de la fabrication et de l'exploitation forestière, pourcentage d'établissements innovateurs, tableau CANSIM 358-0062; Statistique Canada, Entreprises de 20 employés ou plus, décembre 1997 à 2007; Recherche et développement dans l'industrie canadienne, 2008, fichier d'entreprises ayant exécuté de la R-D jusqu'en 2005.