State of the Nation 2010


Innovation Pathways - Basic research and value creation

Innovation Pathways
Basic research and value creation

Where people, knowledge and entrepreneurship connect, innovation happens.

Like synapses between nerve cells in the brain, connections are complex, not linear.

This image shows how Boreal Genomics made connections to take research to the market.

Research (discoveries and inventions)
Basic and applied research

Colleges
Universities
Government laboratories
Business

Dr. Andre Marziali and Dr. Lorne Whitehead of the University of British Columbia (UBC) discover a new way to extract DNA molecules from small or heavily contaminated samples by exploiting a unique property of DNA molecules. They develop a technology called SCODA or Synchronous Coefficient of Drag Alteration.

Talent (science and business)

Students
Researchers
Entrepreneurs

Development and Commercialization

Product rollout
Creation of new firms
Technology transfer
Proof of principle
Product/process development and testing
Business expansion

In 2007, Boreal Genomics is founded as a spinoff company from Dr. Marziali's lab at the University of British Columbia (UBC). Boreal is given an exclusive licence from UBC to commercialize the technology.

With close connections to UBC, Genome BC, as well as within the San Francisco Bay area, Boreal Genomics builds a team, composed of young scientists, mixed with seasoned entrepreneurs and advisors.

In 2007 and 2008, Boreal builds and field tests early instrument prototypes of SCODA.

In 2010, Boreal applies its SCODA technology to develop extraction of specific DNA or RNA fragments from a clinical sample, allowing technicians to more quickly find a particular type of DNA in a sample not just all the DNA in that sample. This could help develop a device that would provide physicians with immediate diagnostic information.

Government Support

Commercialization support programs (funding, advice)
Framework policies
University R&D support
Shared infrastructure (labs, equipment)

Development of the SCODA technology is accomplished with financial and infrastructure support from a number of sources including the National Research Council's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Genome BC, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

Boreal occupies the "Discovery Parks" business incubator facilities available at UBC.

Marketing and Sales

Product support
Market research
Sales channels development (revenues)
Global marketing strategies

The technology can be used in other scientific fields where researchers struggle with materials that are often in low abundance or too contaminated to yield quality DNA. These fields include archaeology, forensics, bio-defence and life sciences. The technology is being used to identify microbes that live in oil sands. The hope of researchers is to identify biological versus mechanical means of separating sand from oil.

In 2009, the first SCODA "alpha" machine is sold to researchers. In 2010, the second-generation "Aurora" machine is commercially available. Boreal Genomics technology is now being used by scientists in Canada, the U.S. and Norway.

Financing

Pre-seed/seed and early
Initial public offering
Working capital and expansion
Late stage

Boreal Genomics grows significantly in its first few years with grants from government agencies and investment from a small group of angel investors.

In December 2010, Boreal Genomics secures its first institutional financing totalling $6.9 million. ARCH Venture Partners, Kearny Venture Partners and GrowthWorks Capital Ltd. lead the financing with participation from InQTel. These funds are being used to commercialize a second-generation technology for highly selective enrichment and diagnostics.


Boreal Genomics, based in Vancouver, B.C., is a small growing company that develops and commercializes methods and instruments for DNA molecule purification, enrichment and detection.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux 2010


Parcours vers l'innovation - Recherche fondamentale et création de valeur

Parcours vers l'innovation
Recherche fondamentale et création de valeur

L'innovation se produit là où les gens, le savoir et l'entrepreneuriat se rejoignent.

Comme des synapses entre les neurones du cerveau, les connexions sont complexes, non linéaires.

Voici comment Boreal Genomics a établi des liens pour transférer la recherche au marché.

Recherche (découvertes et inventions)
Recherche fondamentale et appliquée

Collèges
Universités
Laboratoires gouvernementaux
Entreprises

Andre Marziali et Lorne Whitehead de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique découvrent une nouvelle façon d'extraire des molécules d'ADN à partir d'échantillons légèrement ou gravement contaminés, en exploitant une propriété unique de ces molécules. Ils développent une technologie appelée SCODA (Synchronous Coefficient of Drag Alteration – Altération synchrone de coefficient de frottement).

Talent (sciences et affaires)

Étudiants
Chercheurs
Entrepreneurs

Développement et commercialisation

Présentation du produit
Création d'entreprises
Transfert de technologies
Validation de principe
Développement et essai de produits ou de procédés
Expansion de l'entreprise

2007 voit la création de Boreal Genomics, entreprise dérivée du laboratoire de M. Marziali à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. L'entreprise reçoit une licence exclusive de l'Université pour commercialiser la technologie.

Grâce à d'étroites relations avec l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, avec Genome BC et d'autres intervenants de la région de la baie de San Francisco, Boreal Genomics met sur pied une équipe composée de jeunes scientifiques ainsi que d'entrepreneurs et de conseillers chevronnés.

En 2007 et en 2008, Boreal Genomics produit et met à l'essai, sur le terrain, des prototypes d'instruments destinés à la SCODA.

En 2010, Boreal applique cette technologie à l'extraction de fragments précis d'ADN et d'ARN d'un échantillon clinique, permettant aux techniciens de trouver plus rapidement un type particulier d'ADN dans un échantillon et non tout l'ADN de celui-ci. Cela pourrait aider à mettre au point un instrument apportant une information immédiate aux médecins en quête d'un diagnostic.

Soutien public

Programmes d'aide à la commercialisation (financement, conseils)
Politiques d'encadrement
Aide à la R-D universitaire
Infrastructures communes (laboratoires, matériel)

La SCODA se développe grâce à l'aide financière et au soutien à l'infrastructure offerts par de nombreux organismes, notamment le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, Genome BC, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et les National Institutes of Health des États-Unis.

Boreal occupe les installations de l'incubateur d'entreprises de Discovery Parks, qui sont disponibles à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Marketing et ventes

Soutien du produit
Étude de marché
Développement de circuits de vente (recettes)
Stratégies de marketing sur le marché mondial

La technologie peut être utilisée dans d'autres domaines scientifiques comme l'archéologie, la médecine légale, la défense biologique et les sciences de la vie, où les chercheurs doivent travailler avec des échantillons souvent insuffisants ou trop contaminés qui ne permettent pas d'extraire de l'ADN de qualité. La technologie sert à identifier les microbes qui vivent dans les sables bitumineux. Les chercheurs espèrent trouver un moyen biologique plutôt que mécanique de séparer le sable du pétrole.

En 2009, le premier appareil SCODA « alpha » est vendu aux chercheurs. En 2010, l'appareil de deuxième génération « Aurora » est offert sur le marché. La technologie de Boreal Genomics est maintenant utilisée par des scientifiques au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Norvège.

Financement

Préamorçage, amorçage et démarrage
Premier appel public à l'épargne 
Fonds de roulement et expansion
Étape ultérieure

Pendant ses premières années, Boreal Genomics connaît un essor considérable grâce à des subventions provenant d'organismes gouvernementaux et à la participation d'un petit groupe d'investisseurs providentiels.

En décembre 2010, Boreal Genomics obtient son premier financement institutionnel, pour un total de 6,9 millions de dollars. ARCH Venture Partners, Kearny Venture Partners et GrowthWorks Capital Ltd. assurent ce financement, avec la participation d'InQTel. Ces fonds servent à la commercialisation d'une technologie de deuxième génération appliquée à des diagnostics et à des enrichissements très sélectifs.


Située à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), Boreal Genomics est une petite société en expansion qui développe et commercialise des méthodes et des instruments de purification, de détection et d'enrichissement d'ADN.