State of the Nation 2010


2. Tracking Progress in Canada's Innovative Performance — 2010 vs. 2008

The State of the Nation 2008 report underlined that all participants in the innovation system have a role to play in strengthening the system. In the last two years the profile of productivity and innovation issues has risen significantly in public discourse. The media have given innovation issues sustained attention. Major industry organizations like the Canadian Chamber of Commerce,1 the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters,2 and the Canadian Council of Chief Executives and initiatives such as the Coalition for Action on Innovation in Canada3 have deepened consideration of innovation by business. Organizations such as the Public Policy Forum, the Conference Board of Canada, the Canadian Science Policy Centre, the Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity, and the Federal Partners in Technology Transfer have engaged other players in the innovation system. Participants in the innovation system are mobilizing, building new paths to innovation and prosperity.

There have been some significant developments in key areas noted in the Science, Technology and Innovation Council's State of the Nation 2008 report, which include:

Talent — developing a highly qualified workforce attuned to innovation opportunities

Young Canadians continue to perform well in international rankings of reading, math and science skills. The latest results from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) show either sustaining or slightly declining raw scores, but Canada remains in the top tier of performers (Section 6.3.1). More Canadian students are enrolling in undergraduate science, engineering and mathematics programs (Section 6.3.5). More Canadians are enrolling and graduating from science-based doctoral programs, but other countries remain higher in terms of doctoral-level graduates per million population (Section 6.3.8). Canada also has higher unemployment levels for science-based doctoral-level graduates than other OECD countries (Section 6.3.10).

Knowledge Development and Transfer

Since 2008, more was done to focus on research priorities and conduct research at international levels of excellence. The first recipients of the Canada Excellence Research Chairs were announced. The chairs reflect the STIC research and development sub-priority areas disseminated in 2008. The first Vanier (Canada Graduate) Scholarships Program doctoral students were named and the new Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Program was launched (Section 6.3.13). Canada's granting councils — Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada — have used the sub-priorities to inform a number of their own programs. Competitions for Networks of Centres of Excellence have utilized the sub-priorities as a key requirement.

Knowledge transfer to business was improved since 2008 by strengthening internship programs (Section 6.2.2.1). The launch of the Government of Canada's Research and Development Review Expert Panel in October 2010 marked a commitment to examine knowledge transfer issues in a more comprehensive way. The panel is to report in autumn 2011.

Business Innovation

Total financial resources for research and development (R&D) in Canada as a percentage of GDP decreased from 2006 to 2008. Most of the world's innovating nations increased resources for R&D. A more detailed look at the performers of R&D shows that expenditures on R&D by government and the higher education sector increased from 2006 to 2009. R&D expenditures by business have decreased over the same time period (Section 5).

State of the Nation 2008 stated that low overall business R&D in Canada had been a constant feature for 40 years. Canada's business R&D intensity remains lower than the OECD average and is lower than that of China. R&D expenditure has differed by industry sectors over the years. The State of the Nation 2010 report provides a baseline for examining R&D on an industry sector basis (Section 6.1.4.4).

Governments are pooling public funds with private funds to expand available venture capital. The Government of Canada improved the ability of Canadian businesses to attract foreign venture capital by narrowing the definition of taxable Canadian property, thereby freeing many foreign investors from the tax reporting requirements under section 116 of the Income Tax Act.

Measuring Innovation Performance

Canada's 2009 Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) was released in November 2010. Care needs to be taken in the future to ensure that questions in this survey align with international data on business collaboration with universities and companies obtained through the U.S. and European Union (EU) surveys.

Many industry-specific factors will have an impact on how industries in Canada innovate, and how well this innovation is measured. Research on innovation, including research by the National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA) in the United Kingdom (U.K.), suggests that there is likely to be substantial hidden innovation and that the extent of hidden innovation may differ in different industries. Innovation, as defined by the OECD's Oslo Manual (2005), can be new to a company even if it is not new to the industry or to the world. Some innovation is user-driven and involves large scale field testing that is not defined or tracked as R&D. Other innovation involves copying best practices applied elsewhere. Until these investments are tracked separately they will remain unquantifiable and accounted for on an anecdotal basis. Data presented in this report enable better benchmarking by illuminating industry differences. Data points are, however, only tools for improving our understanding of innovation rather than the final word on Canadian industry practices.

Since 2008, both incremental and transformative actions have taken place. These have yet to raise our performance on key indicators of R&D in Canada. The following table itemizes changes in a short list of indicators tracked since the State of the Nation 2008 report.

State of the Nation: Summary Comparison of Selected Indicators, 2008 and 2010 Reports
Section of Report / Indicator 2008 Report 2010 Report Change on Final Year of Data from 2008 to 2010*

* Note: Direction of arrow indicates change from years cited.

Resources for Research and Development (R&D)
1. Gross domestic expenditure on R&D (GERD) as a percentage of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) 2006
1.97%
2008
1.84%
2006 to 2008
2. GERD by performing sector
(constant 2002 dollars)
2007
$0.28 billion
$14.19 billion
$8.53 billion
$2.21 billion
2008
$0.30 billion
$13.22 billion
$8.53 billion
$2.15 billion
2007 to 2008
↑ by provincial governments
↓ by business
− by higher education
↓ by federal government
Business Innovation Indicators
3. Business expenditure on R&D (BERD) intensity, as a percentage of GDP 2006
1.10%
15th place
2008
1.00%
18th place
2006 to 2008
↓ as a percentage of GDP
↓ ranking in available OECD countries
4. Direct and indirect government funding of business R&D, as a percentage
of GDP
2005
0.21%
0.023%
2008
0.22%
0.022%
2005 to 2008
↑ indirect government funding
↓ direct
government funding
5. Investment in machinery and
equipment as a share of GDP
2004
6.2%
2007
6.3%
2004 to 2007
6. Venture capital relative to GDP 2007
0.12%
2008
0.08%
2007 to 2008
Knowledge Development and Transfer Indicators
7. Higher education performance of R&D, as a percentage of GDP 2006
0.66%
2008
0.64%
2006 to 2008
8. Share of all business-financed R&D performed by higher education sector 2006
5.7%
2009
6.3%
2006 to 2009
9. Intramural government R&D as a share of GDP in Canada 2006
0.20%
2008
0.19%
2006 to 2008
Talent Indicators
10. Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA): 15 year-olds 2006
Science: 534
3rd place
Math: 527
7th place
Reading: 527
4th place
2009
Science: 529
8th place
Math: 527
10th place
Reading: 524
6th place
2006 to 2009
↓ in science score
↓ in science ranking
− in math score
↓ in math ranking
↓ in reading score
↓ in reading ranking
11. Percentage of population with tertiary education: top 10 Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries 2006
47%
1st place
2008
49%
1st place
2006 to 2008
↑ percentage of population with tertiary education
− ranking in top 10 OECD countries
12. PhD graduates per million
population: OECD countries
2002
129.6
20th place
2008
145.9
23rd place
2002 to 2008
↑ in graduates per million population
↓ in ranking of OECD countries

1 – Canadian Chamber of Commerce, Canadian Businesses Go Global for Growth, August 2010. Return to text

2 – Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters, Invest to Grow: Technology, Innovation and Canada's Productivity Challenge, October 2010. Return to text

3 – Coalition for Action on Innovation in Canada, An Action Plan for Prosperity, October 2010. Return to text

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux 2010


2. Mesurer les progrès de la performance du Canada en matière d'innovation – De 2008 à 2010

Le rapport L'état des lieux en 2008 soulignait que tous les participants du système d'innovation ont un rôle à jouer dans la consolidation du système. Ces deux dernières années, les questions de productivité et d'innovation ont pris une grande importance dans les discussions publiques. Les médias ont accordé une attention soutenue aux questions liées à l'innovation. D'importantes organisations de l'industrie, comme la Chambre de commerce du Canada1, Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada2 et le Conseil canadien des chefs d'entreprise, ainsi que des initiatives comme la Coalition pour l'action en matière d'innovation au Canada3, ont sensibilisé les entreprises à l'importance de l'innovation. Des organisations, comme le Forum des politiques publiques, le Conference Board du Canada, le Centre canadien de la politique scientifique, l'Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity et les Partenaires fédéraux en transfert de technologie, ont fait entrer d'autres acteurs dans le système d'innovation. Les intervenants du système d'innovation se mobilisent et établissent de nouveaux parcours vers l'innovation et la prospérité.

Il y a eu des développements considérables dans les domaines clés énoncés dans le rapport L'état des lieux en 2008 du Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation.

Talents – Former une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée et sensible aux possibilités d'innovation

Les jeunes Canadiens continuent d'obtenir de bons résultats aux classements internationaux des compétences en lecture, en mathématiques et en sciences. D'après les derniers résultats du Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA) de l'OCDE, les scores bruts se maintiennent ou baissent légèrement, mais le Canada demeure dans le premier tiers (section 6.3.1). De plus en plus d'élèves canadiens s'inscrivent à des programmes de premier cycle en sciences, en génie et en mathématiques (section 6.3.5). De plus en plus de Canadiens s'inscrivent à des programmes de doctorat en sciences et obtiennent leur diplôme, mais le nombre de titulaires d'un doctorat par million d'habitants est tout de même plus élevé dans d'autres pays (section 6.3.8). En outre, au Canada, le taux de chômage des titulaires d'un doctorat en sciences est plus élevé que dans d'autres pays de l'OCDE (section 6.3.10).

Développement et transfert des connaissances

Depuis 2008, des efforts supplémentaires sont déployés pour mettre l'accent sur les priorités en matière de recherche et effectuer de la recherche à des niveaux d'excellence internationaux. Les premiers titulaires des Chaires d'excellence en recherche du Canada ont été annoncés. Les Chaires reflètent les sous-priorités de R-D publiées par le CSTI en 2008. Les premiers étudiants de doctorat du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier ont été nommés, et le nouveau Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting a été lancé (section 6.3.13). Les conseils subventionnaires du Canada — les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada ainsi que le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada — ont utilisé les sous-priorités pour élaborer certains de leurs programmes. Les concours des Réseaux de centres d'excellence ont fait des sous-priorités des exigences clés.

Le transfert des connaissances dans les entreprises a augmenté depuis 2008 grâce au renforcement des programmes de stages (section 6.2.2.1). La mise sur pied, en octobre 2010, du groupe d'experts sur la recherche-développement du gouvernement du Canada constitue un jalon vers un examen plus détaillé des questions relatives au transfert des connaissances. Le groupe d'experts présentera son rapport à l'automne 2011.

Innovation des entreprises

Les ressources financières totales pour la R-D au Canada, en pourcentage du PIB, ont baissé de 2006 à 2008. La plupart des pays innovateurs ont augmenté la quantité de ressources consacrées à la R-D. L'examen plus minutieux des exécutants de R-D révèle que les dépenses en R-D du gouvernement et du secteur de l'enseignement supérieur ont augmenté de 2006 à 2009. Au cours de cette même période, les dépenses en R-D des entreprises ont diminué (section 5).

Dans L'état des lieux en 2008, on mentionnait que la quantité de R-D dans les entreprises au Canada était faible depuis 40 ans. Au Canada, l'intensité de la R-D dans les entreprises reste inférieure à la moyenne de l'OCDE et à l'intensité observée en Chine. Les dépenses en R-D diffèrent d'un secteur industriel à l'autre au fil des années. Le rapport L'état des lieux en 2010 constitue un point de référence pour l'examen de la R-D par secteur industriel (section 6.1.4.4).

Les gouvernements mettent les fonds publics et privés en commun pour augmenter le capital-risque (C-R) disponible. Le gouvernement du Canada a permis aux entreprises canadiennes d'attirer davantage de C-R étranger en restreignant la définition des biens canadiens imposables, libérant ainsi de nombreux investisseurs étrangers des exigences en matière de déclaration de revenus énoncées à l'article 116 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Mesure du rendement en matière d'innovation

Les résultats de l'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) du Canada effectuée en 2009 ont été publiés en novembre 2010. À l'avenir, il faudra prendre soin d'harmoniser les questions de cette enquête avec les données internationales sur la collaboration du secteur privé avec les universités et les entreprises, contenues dans les enquêtes des États-Unis et de l'Union européenne (UE).

Un grand nombre de facteurs propres à l'industrie auront des répercussions sur la façon dont les industries canadiennes innovent ainsi que sur la façon de mesurer cette innovation. La recherche sur l'innovation, y compris la recherche du National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA) au Royaume-Uni, suggère qu'il y a probablement beaucoup d'innovation cachée, et que son ampleur peut varier d'une industrie à l'autre. L'innovation, telle que définie dans le Manuel d'Oslo de l'OCDE (2005), peut être une nouveauté pour une entreprise, même si elle ne l'est pas pour l'industrie ou le monde. L'innovation peut être axée sur l'utilisateur et nécessiter des essais à grande échelle sur le terrain qui n'entrent pas dans la définition de la R-D ni ne font l'objet de suivi en tant que tel. L'innovation peut aussi nécessiter de copier les meilleures pratiques qui sont appliquées ailleurs. Jusqu'à ce que ces investissements fassent l'objet d'un suivi distinct, ils resteront empiriques et impossibles à quantifier. Les données présentées dans ce rapport améliorent la comparaison en mettant l'accent sur les différences au sein de l'industrie. Cependant, les données ne sont que des outils nous permettant d'améliorer notre compréhension de l'innovation, et non une conclusion sur les pratiques de l'industrie canadienne.

Depuis 2008, des approches progressives et transformatrices ont été adoptées. Elles n'ont pas encore amélioré le rendement du Canada pour ce qui est des indicateurs clés de la R-D au pays. Le tableau qui suit présente les changements survenus pour une courte liste d'indicateurs qui font l'objet d'un suivi depuis la parution du rapport L'état des lieux en 2008.

État des lieux : Récapitulatif de la comparaison des indicateurs choisis, rapports de 2008 et de 2010

Section du rapport et indicateur

Rapport de 2008 Rapport de 2010

Changement basé sur la dernière année des données, de 2008 à 2010*

* Remarque : Le sens des flèches indique le changement au cours des années mentionnées. Retour au texte

Ressources pour la recherche-développement

1. Dépenses intérieures brutes en R-D (DIRD), en pourcentage du PIB

2006
1,97 %

2008
1,84 %

de 2006 à 2008

2. DIRD par secteur d'exécution, en dollars constants de 2002

2007
0,28 G$
14,19 G$
8,53 G$
2,21 G$

2008
0,30 G$
13,22 G$
8,53 G$
2,15 G$

de 2007 à 2008
↑ gouvernements provinciaux
↓ entreprises
− établissements d'enseignement supérieur
↓ gouvernement fédéral

Indicateurs de l'innovation d'entreprise

3. Dépenses en R-D des entreprises (DIRDE), en pourcentage du PIB

2006
1,10 %
15e rang

2008
1,00 %
18e rang

de 2006 à 2008
↓ en pourcentage du PIB
↓ rang par rapport aux pays de l'OCDE pour lesquels des données sont disponibles

4. Financement public direct et indirect de la R-D des entreprises, en pourcentage du PIB

2005
0,21 %
0,023 %

2008
0,22 %
0,022 %

de 2005 à 2008
↑ financement
public indirect
↓ financement
public direct

5. Investissement dans les machines et le matériel, en pourcentage du PIB

2004
6,2 %

2007
6,3 %

de 2004 à 2007

6. Capital-risque en proportion du PIB

2007
0,12 %

2008
0,08 %

de 2007 à 2008

Indicateurs de développement et de transfert des connaissances

7. R-D exécutée dans les établissements d'enseignement supérieur, en pourcentage du PIB

2006
0,66 %

2008
0,64 %

de 2006 à 2008

8. Part de toute la R-D financée par les entreprises qui est exécutée par le
secteur de l'enseignement supérieur

2006
5,7 %

2009
6,3 %

de 2006 à 2009

9. R-D gouvernementale intra-muros
en proportion du PIB, au Canada

2006
0,20 %

2008
0,19 %

de 2006 à 2008

Indicateurs du talent

10. Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves : jeunes de 15 ans

2006
Sciences : 534
3e rang
Maths :
527
7e rang
Lecture : 527
4e rang

2009
Sciences : 529
8e rang
Maths :
527
10e rang
Lecture : 524
6e rang

de 2006 à 2009
↓ résultats en sciences
↓ classement en sciences
− résultats en maths
↓ classement en maths
↓ résultats en lecture
↓ classement en lecture

11. Pourcentage de la population ayant une éducation tertiaire, 10 pays de l'OCDE en tête de classement

2006
47 %
1er rang

2008
49 %
1er rang

de 2006 à 2008
↑ pourcentage de la population ayant une éducation tertiaire

− classement parmi les 10 pays de l'OCDE en tête de classement

12. Nombre de détenteurs de doctorat par million d'habitants : pays de l'OCDE

2002
129,6
20e rang

2008
145,9
23e rang

de 2002 à 2008
↑ détenteurs de doctorat par million d'habitants

↓ classement parmi les pays de l'OCDE


1 – Chambre de commerce du Canada, Les entreprises canadiennes partent à la conquête des marchés mondiaux pour assurer leur croissance, août 2010. Retour au texte

2 – Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada, Investir pour croître : Technologie, innovation, et le défi de productivité du Canada, octobre 2010. Retour au texte

3 – Coalition pour l'action en matière d'innovation au Canada, Un plan d'action pour favoriser la prospérité, octobre 2010. Retour au texte