State of the Nation 2010


4. Recent Developments in Measuring Innovation

New surveys are in development and in the field. A number of countries and international organizations are also working on measuring innovation that occurs as a result of changes in business processes, organization or marketing or through investments in intangible assets. Canada's 2009 Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) and the United States' 2009 Business R&D and Innovation Survey (BRDIS) are new surveys that made data available for analysis in 2010. Future analysis can draw on data to enable comparisons with Europe's Community Innovation Survey (CIS). The United Kingdom's National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA) Innovation Index and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) Measuring Innovation: A New Perspective (2010) explore possible future indicators. However, producing comparative analysis is some time away, as protocols have yet to be developed for standardization of data.

4.1 Canada — Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy

The 2009 Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) sampled over 6,000 companies. Survey questions address the motivation for innovation, spending on innovation activities, collaboration and the results expected from innovation. This survey is discussed in greater detail in Section 6.1.3.

4.2 United States — Business R&D and Innovation Survey

After years of absence from the measurement of innovation, the U.S. National Science Foundation's Division of Science Resources Statistics, in collaboration with the Economic Directorate of the Bureau of the Census, has conducted a new Business R&D and Innovation Survey (BRDIS). The stratified sample of 40,000 firms, with five or more employees, includes a census of large R&D performers, the 50 largest firms, based on payroll, in each state, and a sample of other firms drawn from the U.S. Census Bureau's Business Register. It went into the field as a pilot survey in January 2009 and R&D estimates were released in 2010.

The survey included the propensity for firms to innovate, and related variables, broken down by industry. It also referred to the number of firms that do and do not perform R&D, providing an understanding of the place of R&D in the business strategies of small, medium and large companies. Results from the new survey can be used to track the impact of new programs on the industrial distribution of innovation.

Europe's Community Innovation Survey (CIS) has been running at regular intervals since 1992 and provided a model for the 2005 innovation survey in Canada and for the innovation questions used in the U.S. BRDIS. CIS data are available from Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Commission. Aggregate data for the 27 European Union (EU) member states, and some other countries, are presented in the European Innovation Scoreboard, which has recently been revised to become the Innovation Union Scoreboard.

4.3 United Kingdom — Pilot National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts Innovation Index

The National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA) Innovation Index seeks to better understand innovation at the firm level through capturing 'hidden innovation' and investigating the different ways that innovation occurs in nine industries. NESTA developed a firm-level innovation survey that was tailored to the dominant modes of innovation in each industry. Industries covered included energy production, accountancy services, specialist design, consultancy services, construction, architectural services, software and information technology (IT) services, legal services and automotive. Results were published in November 2009.

The survey asked firms about how they: obtained new ideas from elsewhere; turned ideas into products; and commercialized innovation (i.e., used innovative goods and services to make money).

The survey uncovered significant levels of hidden innovation in several industries where levels of traditional R&D investment are low, and found that hidden innovation was also important for high R&D industries. For every sector surveyed, except the energy production sector, where the effect was noted as small, innovative firms showed higher sales growth than non-innovators. This methodology is experimental and has not been used in national data-gathering efforts.

4.4 Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development — Measuring Innovation: A New Perspective

In its 2010 Measuring Innovation: A New Perspective report, the OECD presented new indicators along with novel ways of looking at traditional ones. It included measures of expenditure on "innovation" as opposed to "R&D" by firm size. Expenditure on innovation includes: total expenditure by firms on R&D that they perform in-house or externally; acquisition of other external knowledge (e.g., patents, licences and trademarks); and acquisition of machinery, equipment and software. Canadian data for this indicator were 2005 data and only for manufacturing.

Using data from 21 countries, the report concluded that firms receiving public support for innovation invested 40 percent to 70 percent more than those who did not. It is also suggested that higher levels of company investment in innovation lead to elevated sales of new-to-market products and higher productivity.4

New work was undertaken to capture investments in intangible assets. The OECD divided these into computerized information, which includes software and databases; innovative property, which includes scientific R&D, mineral exploration, copyright and licence costs, and product development, design and research; and economic competencies, which include brand equity, firm-specific human capital and organizational capital. Work in this area does not yet include standardized methods and definitions. It does show that investments in intangibles are larger than investments in machinery and equipment in the U.S. and Sweden. Estimates of the contribution of intangible assets to labour productivity growth show that these explain a good portion of multifactor productivity growth in some OECD countries.

Another highlight is the measure of "new-to-market" product innovators with and without R&D as a percentage of innovators. This indicator shows that a large share of firms develop their innovation without performing any R&D.


4OECD (2010), Measuring Innovation: A New Perspective, p. 78. Return to text

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux 2010


4. Évolution récente de la mesure de l'innovation

De nouvelles enquêtes sont en élaboration et d'autres sont en cours. Un certain nombre de pays et d'organisations internationales tentent aussi de mesurer l'innovation qui provient des changements de procédés, d'organisation ou de marketing des entreprises ou encore d'investissements dans des biens incorporels. L'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) effectuée au Canada en 2009 et la Business R&D and Innovation Survey (BRDIS) effectuée aux États-Unis en 2009 sont de nouvelles enquêtes qui ont permis de recueillir des données en vue de leur analyse en 2010. Les analyses futures pourront utiliser ces données pour les comparer à celles de l'Enquêtecommunautaire sur l'innovation (ECI) effectuée en Europe. L'indice d'innovation du NESTA, au Royaume-Uni, et l'ouvrage Mesurer l'innovation : Un nouveau regard de l'OCDE (2010) explorent les futurs indicateurs possibles. Cependant, l'analyse comparative ne se fera pas tout de suite, puisqu'il faut élaborer des protocoles pour la normalisation des données.

4.1 Canada : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise

L'EISE de 2009 portait sur un échantillon de plus de 6 000 entreprises. Les questions de l'enquête concernaient la motivation pour l'innovation, les dépenses en activités d'innovation, la collaboration et les résultats attendus en ce qui a trait à l'innovation. La section 6.1.3 contient plus de détails sur cette enquête.

4.2 États-Unis : Business R&D and Innovation Survey

Après des années d'absence de la mesure de l'innovation, la Division of Science Resources Statistics de la Fondation nationale des sciences, aux États-Unis, en collaboration avec la Direction des programmes économiques du Bureau of the Census, a effectué une nouvelle enquête, la Business R&D and Innovation Survey (BRDIS). L'échantillon stratifié de 40 000 entreprises comptant cinq employés ou plus comprend un recensement des grands exécutants de R-D, les 50 plus grandes entreprises selon la paie, dans chaque État, ainsi qu'un échantillon constitué d'autres entreprises provenant du registre des entreprises du Bureau of the Census des États-Unis. L'enquête pilote a été effectuée en janvier 2009, et les estimations de la R-D ont été publiées en 2010.

L'enquête étudie notamment la propension des entreprises à innover ainsi que des variables connexes, par industrie. Elle mentionne aussi le nombre d'entreprises qui exécutent de la R-D, ce qui permet de comprendre la place qu'occupe la R-D dans les stratégies des petites, moyennes et grandes entreprises. Les résultats de la nouvelle enquête permettent d'évaluer l'incidence des nouveaux programmes sur la répartition de l'innovation au sein de l'industrie.

L'Enquête communautaire sur l'innovation, en Europe, est effectuée régulièrement depuis 1992 et a servi de modèle à l'enquête de 2005 sur l'innovation au Canada ainsi qu'aux questions sur l'innovation utilisées dans le BRDIS des États-Unis. Les données de l'ECI ont été fournies par l'Office statistique des Communautés européennes (EUROSTAT). Les données agrégées pour les 27 États membres de l'UE ainsi que quelques autres pays proviennent du Tableau de bord européen de l'innovation, qui est récemment devenu le Tableau de bord de l'Union de l'innovation.

4.3 Royaume-Uni : L'indice d'innovation pilote du National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts

L'indice d'innovation du NESTA cherche à améliorer la compréhension de l'innovation dans les entreprises en tenant compte de l'« innovation cachée » et en enquêtant sur les différentes façons dont l'innovation se produit dans neuf industries. Le NESTA a élaboré une enquête sur l'innovation dans les entreprises qui est adaptée aux modes dominants de l'innovation dans chacune de ces industries. Ces industries sont la production d'énergie, les services de comptabilité, le design spécialisé, les services de conseil, la construction, les services d'architecture, les logiciels et services de TI, les services juridiques, et l'automobile. Les résultats ont été publiés en novembre 2009.

Dans l'enquête, on demandait aux entreprises comment elles procédaient pour obtenir de nouvelles idées venant d'ailleurs, transformer les idées en produits et commercialiser l'innovation (c'est-à-dire utiliser les biens et les services innovateurs afin de faire de l'argent).

L'enquête a révélé des niveaux considérables d'innovation cachée dans plusieurs industries où l'investissement dans la R-D classique était faible et a conclu que l'innovation cachée était également importante dans les industries où la R-D était déjà élevée. Dans tous les secteurs, sauf celui de la production d'énergie où l'effet observé était limité, les entreprises innovatrices enregistrent une croissance des ventes plus élevée que celles qui n'innovent pas. Cette méthode est expérimentale et n'a pas été utilisée pour la collecte de données à l'échelle nationale.

4.4 Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques : Mesurer l'innovation : Un nouveau regard

Dans son rapport intitulé Mesurer l'innovation : Un nouveau regard (2010), l'OCDE a présenté de nouveaux indicateurs ainsi que de nouvelles façons d'étudier les indicateurs existants. Le rapport comprend des mesures des dépenses en « innovation » plutôt qu'en « R-D », par taille d'entreprise. Les dépenses en innovation incluent : les dépenses totales des entreprises pour la R-D réalisée intra-muros ou à l'externe, l'acquisition d'autres connaissances externes (p. ex., les brevets, les licences et les marques de commerce) ainsi que l'acquisition de machines et de matériel et de logiciels. Les données canadiennes pour cet indicateur portent sur l'année 2005 et seulement sur la fabrication.

À l'aide des données concernant 21 pays, le rapport arrive à la conclusion que les entreprises qui bénéficient d'une aide publique à l'innovation font des investissements de 40 % à 70 % plus élevés que les autres. On suggère aussi que l'augmentation de l'investissement des entreprises dans l'innovation engendre un accroissement de la productivité et des ventes de produits nouveaux pour le marché4.

Pour la première fois, des efforts ont été déployés en vue de saisir l'investissement dans les biens incorporels. L'OCDE a réparti ces biens dans trois catégories : les données informatisées, c'est-à-dire les logiciels et les bases de données, le patrimoine d'innovation, c'est-à-dire la R-D scientifique, la prospection minière, les droits d'auteur et les droits de licence ainsi que d'autres activités de recherche, de conception et de développement de produits, et les compétences économiques, c'est-à-dire les marques, le capital humain propre à l'entreprise et le capital organisationnel. Le travail effectué dans ce domaine ne comprend pas encore de méthodes ni de définitions normalisées. On constate qu'aux États-Unis et en Suède, l'investissement dans les biens incorporels est plus grand que l'investissement dans les MM. Les estimations de la contribution des biens incorporels à la productivité de la main-d'œuvre montrent que ces biens expliquent une bonne partie de la croissance de la productivité totale des facteurs (PTF) dans certains pays de l'OCDE.

Un autre indicateur digne de mention sert à mesurer, parmi les entreprises innovantes, celles qui mettent de nouveaux produits sur le marché après avoir effectué des travaux de R-D et celles qui le font sans avoir mené de travaux de R-D. Cet indicateur révèle que la proportion d'entreprises qui innovent sans mener d'activités de R-D est élevée.

4OCDE, Mesurer l'innovation : Un nouveau regard, 2010, p. 78. Retour au texte