State of the Nation 2012

Chapter 7: Conclusion and the Way Forward


To a significant extent, Canada’s success in the 21st century will be determined by our ability to harness science, technology and innovation (STI) to drive economic prosperity and enhance societal well-being. STI is key to increasing productivity growth, generating high-value jobs, creating and growing firms, and addressing pressing health, environmental and social challenges.

State of the Nation 2012 confirms what we learned in our 2010 and 2008 reports—that Canada has strong STI fundamentals related to the high quality of our talent and our strength in generating new knowledge. But we cannot be satisfied with the status quo, or incremental progress. Other countries are strategically planning and investing to improve their STI ecosystems, and our latest report shows they are starting to reap the rewards.

We believe that Canada must strive not only for excellence in STI but also for global leadership, so that we might reap the resulting economic and societal benefits. In State of the Nation 2012 we have gone beyond examining Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and other comparator countries (as we did in previous reports) to identify the threshold that Canada would have to attain in order to break into the ranks of the world’s top five performing countries on key indicators.


 

Canada must strive not only for excellence in STI but also for global leadership.

In concluding this State of the Nation 2012 report, we want to go still further, by highlighting five of these indicators in particular where Canada should aspire to join the ranks of the world’s top five performing countries. Improved performance in these five “aspirational” indicators will help secure Canada’s future as a global STI leader and make an enormous contribution to our country’s success. Failure to do better in these five areas will significantly constrain our ability to move into an STI leadership position and to harness STI advances for the economic and societal well-being of Canadians. In future reports, we will track progress on these five indicators and continue to promote better performance in these areas. These five “aspirational” indicators span the three key pillars underpinning Canada’s STI ecosystem—business, knowledge and talent. While they serve distinct purposes, they also mutually reinforce one another in maximizing Canada’s STI potential. They include:

  • business enterprise expenditures on research and development (BERD) as a share of gross domestic product (GDP);
  • business investment in information and communications technologies (ICT);
  • higher education expenditures on R&D (HERD) as a share of GDP;
  • science and engineering doctoral degrees granted per 100,000 population; and
  • share of human resources in science and technology (HRST).

The first two of these five indicators relate to the extent to which Canadian companies embrace innovation as a competitiveness strategy, as reflected in BERD as a share of GDP and business ICT investment intensity, both described in Chapter 4. We believe concerted efforts must be directed at enhancing BERD and ICT investment as they are both closely linked to product and process innovation and thus to productivity growth. Enhanced productivity will serve to enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and drive economic growth.

As reported in Chapter 4, Canada’s BERD intensity has almost continuously declined for the past decade, and Canada has fallen to 25th out of 41 economies in the OECD’s 2011 rankings. This is less than 40 percent of the threshold of the top five performers. Where Canadian business has performed better is in its funding of R&D in the higher education sector. On this measure, Canada ranked seventh among comparator economies, with significantly better performance than the United States (U.S.) and Japan.

In business ICT investment intensity, while Canadian investment is growing, Canada still ranks in the middle of OECD comparator countries. On this indicator, Canada performs at approximately 70 percent of the threshold of the world’s top five performers.

To improve Canada’s performance on these indicators, companies must more actively pursue innovation as a competitiveness strategy, including greater investment in research and development (R&D) and productivity-enhancing machinery and equipment (M&E), especially ICT. While evidence shows that firms are investing a smaller share of their profits in R&D and M&E, the current economic climate would suggest that Canadian companies should be putting their money to work.

All levels of government in Canada have a role to play in supporting companies’ pursuit of enhanced innovation. At the federal level, we strongly encourage the government to make progress in redressing the imbalance between its direct and indirect support for business R&D. As noted in Chapter 3, the balance of Canada’s business R&D support is heavily weighted to indirect funding, in stark contrast to most other countries. Among the world’s top 10 innovative countries (as measured by BERD-to-GDP and gross domestic expenditures on research and development (GERD)-to-GDP), direct support in 2010 consisted of an average of approximately 70 percent of total government support for business R&D, while in Canada it consisted of only approximately 12 percent.

While recent changes to the Industrial Research Assistance Program and the launch of the Digital Technology Adoption Pilot Program are encouraging, more direct funding in support of business innovation in Canada is needed. For instance, the federal government could signal through its procurement activities that it is prepared to be a lead user for innovative products. Governments around the world are increasingly using procurement to stimulate business innovation and address the commercialization gap. The Canadian Innovation Commercialization Program, introduced in 2010, was an excellent beginning. Now the program must be expanded to reach businesses of all sizes across Canada.

The lack of venture capital (VC) in Canada remains a key challenge facing the growth of innovative companies, and may hinder improvements in BERD intensity. Data presented in Chapter 4 show that Canada trails many of its international peers in terms of VC as a share of GDP, and there is a significant VC investment gap with the U.S. Recently, the federal government took a positive step towards addressing this deficiency by announcing the deployment of $400 million in new capital through the Venture Capital Action Plan.201 The government should use this as a springboard to launch other initiatives, which could include a review of government policies to further encourage VC activity and new measures to address other gaps, such as the shortage of serial entrepreneurs.

The higher education sector in Canada can also play an important role in fostering enhanced business innovation, by adopting further initiatives to support “knowledge transfer on two feet.” This means closer collaboration with industry in long-term, discovery-oriented research and in applied research closer to the market. It also means expanding programs that support work-integrated learning for STI students and graduates, and developing curricula to fill the gaps between science and business skills.

The third indicator where Canada should aspire to join the ranks of the world’s top five performing countries relates to Canada’s commitment to the generation of new knowledge, reflected in HERD as a share of GDP. We singled out this indicator because the development of new knowledge is fundamental to the strength and vitality of the whole STI ecosystem.

As noted in Chapter 5, although growing in dollar terms, HERD funding has fluctuated over the last decade in relation to the size of the economy. Canada’s relative position in terms of HERD as a share of GDP is deteriorating against the broad comparator group, with Canada ranking 9th out of 41 economies in 2011, down from 4th place in 2008 and 3rd in 2006. Canada’s HERD-to-GDP performance was 87.9 percent of the threshold of the top five performers in 2011, although it came in significantly above that of the U.S., which stood at 55.8 percent of the top five economies.

Research in the higher education sector generates the discoveries that underpin new products, processes and policies and that help address our society’s most pressing challenges, whether health in an aging population, sustainable means to extract natural resources, or improving living standards for all Canadians.

Through collaboration with industry and practical application of research findings, the research activities undertaken by our universities and colleges also hold enormous potential for stimulating business innovation. Applied research collaborations with colleges and universities are particularly important to small and medium-sized enterprises, which often lack the resources to invest in innovation projects. Canada’s relatively strong international performance in HERD as a share of GDP highlights an important achievement in knowledge development that should be sustained and expanded, particularly in a world where other countries are investing aggressively in higher education and research.

The remaining two “aspirational” indicators relate to our talent advantage. The ability to produce and deploy top research talent is critical in a world where the creation and application of new knowledge drives economic growth and societal advances. Thus we point to the need to improve our performance in producing doctoral graduates, as reflected in science and engineering doctoral degrees granted per 100,000 population. Increasing the number of doctoral graduates in Canada will enhance our capacity to undertake cutting-edge research and to train successive generations of talent.

As reported in Chapter 6, in 2010 Canada placed 15th among OECD countries on science and engineering doctoral degrees granted per 100,000 population, and performed at approximately 64 percent of the threshold of the top five global performers. On a more encouraging note, between 2006 and 2010, Canada experienced about 49 percent growth in science doctoral degrees granted and about 39 percent growth in engineering doctoral degrees—growth rates surpassing those of many comparator countries. To continue this growth, we need to foster a greater “science and innovation culture” in Canada to increase interest among young people, as early as elementary school, in pursuing advanced studies and successful careers in STI-related fields.

The ability to deploy our talent to best advantage—to maximize the impact of people’s knowledge and skills in our labour force and our society—is equally important. Thus our list of five “aspirational” indicators is rounded out with the share of human resources in S&T in the labour force. On this measure, Canada’s performance continues to lag that of key competitor countries. As noted in Chapter 6, in the services sector, Canada’s performance is mediocre when compared to other OECD countries. In manufacturing, the picture is dismal—the HRST share of the manufacturing labour force is among the lowest in the OECD. More public and private sector support for work-integrated learning initiatives would help transition STI graduates into productive employment in the labour force and would serve to demonstrate to prospective employers the value that this talent can bring to their organizations.

Canada has strong STI foundations on which to build, but we must do better—in some areas, much better. The five “aspirational” indicators we have identified will be a measure of our success. The responsibility is shared: all participants in our STI ecosystem have a role to play in driving enhanced performance and lifting Canada into the ranks of the world’s leading innovative economies. It is not just about investing more, but about investing more strategically and coherently, focusing our resources and efforts, learning from the experience of global STI leaders and improving agility to seize emerging opportunities. That is how Canada will truly be able to “run with the best.”


201Prime Minister of Canada, “Venture Capital Action Plan,” Backgrounders (2013).

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2012

Chapitre 7 : Conclusion et stratégie d’avenir


Le succès du Canada au 21e siècle dépendra en grande partie de sa capacité d’exploiter les sciences, la technologie et l’innovation (STI) afin d’assurer la prospérité économique et d’améliorer le bien-être de la société. Les STI sont essentielles à la croissance accrue de la productivité. Ils permettent la création d’emplois de qualité, l’établissement et l’expansion d’entreprises ainsi que la résolution de problèmes environnementaux, sociaux et de santé urgents.

L’état des lieux en 2012 confirme ce que nous ont appris les rapports de 2010 et de 2008, à savoir que le Canada possède de solides fondements en STI, notamment grâce à la grande qualité de ses talents et à sa capacité à générer de nouvelles connaissances. Mais il ne doit pas se satisfaire du statu quo ni de progrès graduels. En effet, d’autres pays planifient et investissent de façon stratégique afin d’améliorer leur écosystème des STI et, d’après notre dernier rapport, ces mesures commencent à porter leurs fruits.

Nous croyons que le Canada doit viser non seulement l’excellence en matière de STI, mais également le leadership mondial, afin qu’il puisse en récolter les bénéfices économiques et sociétaux. L’état des lieux en 2012 ne se contente pas d’examiner les pays de comparaison de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et d’autres économies, comme l’ont fait les rapports précédents, mais il détermine également le seuil que doit atteindre le Canada pour se classer parmi les cinq pays du monde les mieux classés à l’égard d’indicateurs clés.


 

Le Canada doit viser non seulement l’excellence en matière de STI, mais également le leadership mondial.

Dans cette conclusion de L’état des lieux en 2012, nous voulons aller encore plus loin et souligner cinq de ces indicateurs clés pour lesquels le Canada devrait s’efforcer de faire partie des cinq pays du monde les mieux classés. Améliorer son rendement à l’égard de ces cinq indicateurs contribuera énormément à son succès et permettra d’assurer son avenir à titre de chef de file mondial en STI. En revanche, l’absence de progrès dans ces cinq domaines entravera la capacité du Canada de devenir un chef de file en STI et de susciter les avancées que les STI pourraient représenter pour le bien-être économique et social des Canadiens. Dans les prochains rapports, nous ferons le suivi des progrès réalisés à l’égard de ces cinq indicateurs et continuerons de promouvoir un meilleur rendement dans ces domaines. Ces cinq indicateurs représentent les trois principaux piliers qui soutiennent l’écosystème canadien des STI : les entreprises, les connaissances et les talents. Bien qu’ils aient des buts différents, ils se renforcent mutuellement en utilisant à fond les capacités du Canada en STI. Ces cinq indicateurs sont :

  • les dépenses en recherche-développement des entreprises (DIRDE) en pourcentage du produit intérieur brut (PIB),
  • les investissements des entreprises dans les technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC),
  • les dépenses intérieures brutes de recherche-développement dans le domaine de l’enseignement supérieur (DIRDES) en pourcentage du PIB,
  • les doctorats en sciences et en ingénierie délivrés par 100 000 habitants,
  • la part des ressources humaines en sciences et en technologie (RHST).

Les deux premiers indicateurs portent sur la capacité des entreprises canadiennes d’intégrer l’innovation dans leur stratégie pour être compétitives, comme le reflètent les DIRDE en pourcentage du PIB et l’intensité d’investissement des entreprises dans les TIC (chapitre 4). Nous sommes d’avis que les efforts doivent porter sur les DIRDE et les investissements dans les TIC, car ces deux éléments sont étroitement liés à l’innovation en matière de produits et de procédés et, par conséquent, à la croissance de la productivité. Une meilleure productivité contribuera à accroître la compétitivité du Canada à l’échelle mondiale et à stimuler la croissance économique.

Comme il est mentionné au chapitre 4, l’intensité des DIRDE a diminué de façon presque constante au cours des 10 dernières années, et le Canada est maintenant relégué au 25e rang sur 41 pays selon le classement de 2011 de l’OCDE. Ce niveau n’équivaut même pas à 40 % du seuil des cinq pays les mieux classés. Le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur est celui où les entreprises canadiennes ont affiché le meilleur rendement pour ce qui est des investissements en R-D. Le Canada s’est classé 7e parmi les économies comparées, devançant nettement les États-Unis et le Japon.

En ce qui concerne l’intensité des investissements des entreprises dans les TIC, bien que les investissements canadiens soient en croissance, le Canada se situe à nouveau dans la moyenne des pays de comparaison de l’OCDE. Selon cet indicateur, les investissements canadiens équivalent à environ 70 % du seuil des cinq pays les mieux classés.

Pour améliorer le rendement du Canada à cet égard, les entreprises doivent utiliser l’innovation comme stratégie pour être compétitives, c’est-à-dire investir davantage dans la recherche-développement (R-D) et utiliser des machines et du matériel (MM) améliorant la productivité, surtout les TIC. Alors que les données montrent que les entreprises canadiennes investissent une plus petite part de leurs bénéfices dans la R-D et les MM, le climat économique actuel devrait plutôt les inciter à investir davantage.

Au Canada, tous les ordres de gouvernement ont un rôle à jouer pour aider les entreprises à innover. À l’échelon fédéral, nous encourageons fortement le gouvernement à faire des progrès pour rétablir l’équilibre entre son soutien direct et son soutien indirect à la R-D des entreprises. Comme le souligne le chapitre 3, le soutien à la R-D des entreprises au Canada est grandement axé sur le soutien indirect, contrairement à la plupart des pays. Parmi les 10 pays les plus innovateurs au monde (selon le ratio DIRDE-PIB et le ratio DIRD-PIB), le soutien direct en 2010 représentait environ 70 % du soutien gouvernemental total à la R-D des entreprises, tandis que celui du Canada ne représentait qu’environ 12 %.

Les récents changements apportés au Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada et le lancement du Programme pilote d’adoption de la technologie numérique sont encourageants, mais il faut augmenter le financement direct pour appuyer l’innovation des entreprises au Canada. Par exemple, le gouvernement fédéral pourrait démontrer, par l’intermédiaire de ses activités d’achat, qu’il est prêt à devenir un chef de file en matière d’utilisation de produits innovateurs. Les gouvernements du monde entier utilisent de plus en plus les achats pour stimuler l’innovation des entreprises et combler les lacunes de la commercialisation. Le Programme canadien pour la commercialisation des innovations, lancé en 2010, est un excellent début. À présent, le programme doit s’élargir afin de s’adresser aux entreprises de toutes les tailles au Canada.

Le manque de capital de risque au Canada demeure un problème majeur pour la croissance des entreprises innovatrices et pourrait nuire à l’amélioration de l’intensité des DIRDE. Les données présentées au chapitre 4 montrent que le Canada est dépassé par de nombreux pays en ce qui a trait au capital de risque en pourcentage du PIB, et qu’il existe un important écart entre le Canada et les États-Unis en matière d’investissement de capital de risque. Dernièrement, le gouvernement fédéral a pris des mesures pour combler cet écart en annonçant l’octroi de nouveaux fonds de 400 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Plan d’action pour le capital de risque201. Le gouvernement devrait se servir de cette mesure comme tremplin pour lancer d’autres initiatives, dont l’examen des politiques gouvernementales pour favoriser le capital de risque et de nouvelles mesures pour combler d’autres lacunes, comme la pénurie d’entrepreneurs perpétuels.

Le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur au Canada peut également jouer un rôle important pour favoriser l’innovation des entreprises en adoptant d’autres initiatives afin de soutenir « le transfert des connaissances axé sur les gens ». Cela signifie renforcer la collaboration avec l’industrie dans le cadre de recherches à long terme axées sur les découvertes et de recherches appliquées plus près du marché, ainsi qu’élargir la portée des programmes qui appuient l’apprentissage intégré au travail des étudiants et des diplômés en STI et mettre sur pied des programmes de cours visant à combler l’écart entre les connaissances scientifiques et les compétences en affaires.

Le troisième indicateur clé pour lequel le Canada devrait s’efforcer de faire partie des cinq pays du monde les mieux classés vise l’engagement du Canada envers le développement de nouvelles connaissances, reflété dans les DIRDES en pourcentage du PIB. Nous avons choisi cet indicateur parce que le développement des connaissances est essentiel pour assurer la force et la vitalité de tout l’écosystème des STI.

Comme le chapitre 5 le décrit, la proportion des DIRDES en regard de l’ensemble de l’économie a fluctué au cours de la dernière décennie, bien que les sommes investies aient augmenté. Le classement du Canada pour les DIRDES en pourcentage du PIB se détériore par rapport aux pays de comparaison : le Canada se classait 9e sur 41 économies en 2011, une baisse par rapport à son 4e rang en 2008 et à son 3e rang en 2006. Ce rendement équivaut à 87,9 % du seuil des cinq pays les mieux classés en 2011, mais il s’agit tout de même d’un résultat bien supérieur à celui des États-Unis (55,8 % du seuil).

La recherche dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur mène aux découvertes sous-tendant les nouveaux produits, processus et politiques qui contribuent à répondre aux défis les plus urgents de la société, que ce soit la santé de la population vieillissante, des moyens durables pour extraire les ressources naturelles ou l’amélioration du niveau de vie des Canadiens.

Grâce à leurs activités de recherche, les universités et les collèges peuvent fortement stimuler l’innovation des entreprises en collaborant avec l’industrie et en appliquant les résultats de ces recherches. Les collaborations en matière de recherche appliquée avec les collèges et les universités sont particulièrement importantes pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, qui ont rarement les ressources nécessaires pour investir dans des projets d’innovation. Le rendement relativement solide du Canada à l’échelle mondiale sur le plan des DIRDES en pourcentage du PIB constitue une réalisation importante en matière de développement des connaissances qui doit être maintenue et élargie, surtout dans un monde où d’autres pays investissent massivement dans l’enseignement supérieur et la recherche.

Les deux autres indicateurs concernent l’avantage en matière de talents. La capacité de produire et de déployer les meilleurs talents dans le domaine de la recherche est essentielle dans un monde où la création et l’application de nouvelles connaissances favorisent la croissance économique et le progrès de la société. Il faut donc améliorer la capacité de produire des titulaires de doctorat, c’est-à-dire augmenter le nombre de doctorats en sciences et en ingénierie délivrés par 100 000 habitants. Un plus grand nombre de doctorats au Canada augmentera la capacité du pays à entreprendre des recherches d’avant-garde et à former les nouvelles générations de talents.

Comme le souligne le chapitre 6, en 2010 le Canada se classait 15e parmi les pays de l’OCDE quant au nombre de doctorats en sciences et en ingénierie délivrés par 100 000 habitants, ce qui équivaut à environ 64 % du seuil des cinq pays les mieux classés à l’échelle mondiale. Sur une note plus encourageante, pendant la période de 2006 à 2010, le Canada a connu une croissance d’environ 49 % du nombre de doctorats délivrés en sciences et d’environ 39 % du nombre de doctorats délivrés en ingénierie; ces taux de croissance dépassent ceux de nombreux pays comparables. Afin de poursuivre sur cette lancée, le Canada doit favoriser une plus grande « culture axée sur les sciences et l’innovation » pour inciter les jeunes, dès l’école primaire, à poursuivre des études supérieures et à faire carrière dans les domaines des STI.

La capacité de déployer les talents afin d’en tirer les meilleurs avantages – de porter à son maximum l’effet des connaissances et des compétences des gens sur la main-d’oeuvre et la société – est tout aussi importante. Ainsi, nous complétons notre liste de cinq indicateurs en ajoutant la part des ressources humaines en sciences et en technologie dans la main-d’oeuvre. À ce chapitre, le Canada reste loin derrière les principaux pays concurrents. Comme il en est question au chapitre 6, dans le secteur des services, le rendement du Canada est médiocre par rapport à celui d’autres pays de l’OCDE; dans le secteur de la fabrication, la situation est lamentable : la part des RHST dans la main-d’oeuvre est parmi les plus basses de l’OCDE. Un plus grand soutien des secteurs public et privé pour les initiatives d’apprentissage intégré au travail aiderait les diplômés en STI à faire la transition vers un emploi productif et montrerait aux employeurs potentiels ce qu’ils peuvent apporter à leur entreprise.

Le Canada possède des bases solides en STI sur lesquelles bâtir, mais il doit faire mieux et, dans certains domaines, beaucoup mieux. Les cinq indicateurs que nous avons déterminés permettront de mesurer ce succès. Il incombe à tous les participants de l’écosystème des STI de jouer un rôle dans l’amélioration du rendement visant à placer le Canada dans le groupe des pays de tête en matière d’innovation. Il ne s’agit pas seulement d’investir plus, mais d’investir de façon plus stratégique et cohérente, en prenant exemple sur les leaders mondiaux en STI et en saisissant les occasions qui se présentent. C’est ainsi que le Canada pourra vraiment faire partie de l’élite.


201Premier ministre du Canada, Plan d’action pour le capital de risque, Notes d’information, 2013.