State of the Nation 2014

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation System: Canada's Innovation Challenges and Opportunities

Executive summary

Snapshot

Science, technology and innovation (ST&I) drive economic prosperity and fuel advances that improve societal well-being. A sustainable competitive advantage in ST&I is the path to success in the global knowledge-based economy.

Despite ongoing efforts to improve Canada's lagging business innovation performance, it has continued to deteriorate. Canada has fallen further behind its global competitors on key performance indicators, reflected most tellingly in private-sector investment in research and development (R&D). Canada's business enterprise expenditures on R&D (BERD) intensity (i.e., BERD as a share of gross domestic product) dropped further between 2006 and 2013, to the point where Canada ranked 26th among international competitors and sat at 36 percent of the threshold of the top five performing countries. Canada's most profound and urgent ST&I challenge lies in increasing the number of firms that embrace and effectively manage innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy.

Canada maintains a solid foundation in the quality of knowledge production and its educated population. However, we cannot be complacent. Maintaining and enhancing excellence requires that our investments keep pace with those of competitor countries.

Responsibility for reversing Canada's poor business innovation performance and growing its knowledge and talent advantages rests with all players in the ST&I ecosystem — working together, working differently, in a "systems" approach characterized by collaboration, integration and strategic investment. To address Canada's ST&I performance challenges and build on our strengths, the Science, Technology and Innovation Council recommends that Canada:

  • close the gap on firms' investment in innovation;
  • redress the imbalance of direct and indirect government funding for business R&D, to provide greater direct support for high-risk, high-reward business R&D;
  • embrace risk and ambition;
  • boost higher education expenditures on R&D to keep pace with other countries' support for "intellectual infrastructure"; and
  • invest strategically, further focusing government funds to build globally competitive critical mass in targeted areas.

Science, technology and innovation (ST&I) excellence is critical to Canada's wealth and well-being. Through ST&I, firms enhance their productivity and competitiveness, and transform ideas and inventions into new goods and services that power markets. With increased profitability through innovation, firms create more high-value jobs for Canadians and contribute to increased national wealth. At the same time, advances in ST&I drive solutions to society's perennial challenges, whether related to health care, the environment, hunger or poverty.

The Government of Canada mandated the Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC) to regularly assess and report on Canada's ST&I performance against competitor countries. In this fourth State of the Nation report, STIC builds on its work since the baseline 2008 report to analyze Canada's ST&I performance and progress. Most importantly, State of the Nation 2014 addresses the way forward to position Canada as a world leader in ST&I.

As in previous State of the Nation reports, State of the Nation 2014 is structured around the understanding that a robust and vibrant ST&I ecosystem is built on three pillars:

  • i) skilled and creative talent,
  • ii) high-quality knowledge, and
  • iii) an innovative private sector.

Talented people generate and enhance knowledge. An innovative private sector converts knowledge into new products and processes that generate wealth. State of the Nation 2014 assesses Canada's ST&I performance by examining the components that drive success and define leadership in each of these three pillars. For each component, internationally accepted indicators are used to compare Canada's performance with that of competitor countries. Following the practice introduced in State of the Nation 2012, the analysis notes the world's top five performing countries on each indicator and the threshold that Canada must reach to break into their ranks.

The Performance Story

The central conclusion of the State of the Nation 2014 analysis is disturbing: despite efforts to improve Canada's lagging business innovation performance, it has continued to deteriorate. Canada has fallen further behind comparator countries on key business innovation performance indicators, and the gap between Canada and the world's top five performers has widened.

An innovative private sector is underpinned by investments in research and development (R&D) and other knowledge assets, including talent and information and communications technologies (ICT). Canada's private sector is not investing in these assets at a globally competitive level. Of particular concern, with business investment in R&D dropping, Canada's business enterprise expenditures on R&D (BERD) intensity (i.e., BERD as a share of gross domestic product (GDP)) fell between 2006 and 2013, to the point where Canada ranked 26th among international competitors and sat at only 36 percent of the threshold of the top five performers. In addition, Canada was in the middle of the pack in ICT investment intensity (i.e., ICT investment as a share of GDP). In parallel, private sector take-up of ST&I talent was weak, with Canada ranking 15th in 2012 and positioned at 66 percent of the top five threshold in terms of researchers in industry. This was a substantial drop from seventh position in 2006.

On a positive note, data suggest that Canada's small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) were at the forefront internationally in introducing product and process innovations, positioning Canada fourth on this measure. In contrast, our large companies lagged global competitors, resulting in Canada's 19th position in this ranking. Finally, Canada continued to be out of step with its international competitors in the balance between direct and indirect government support for business R&D.

While business innovation lagged, Canada maintained a solid knowledge and talent foundation. Canada continued to exhibit strength in the quality of knowledge production: our universities were competitive in a second tier of countries in the global rankings; we enjoyed real "star power" in hosting leading researchers; and we continued to perform above the world average on research citation counts (relative impact index).

Canada's talent base also continued to be an asset: in 2012, we led the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development in the proportion of the population with a post-secondary education (due significantly to the role of colleges in Canada's education system). Although our Programme for International Student Assessment rankings slipped marginally, Canadian 15-year-olds continued to perform well in reading, math and science. In 2013, Canadian adults scored just shy of the top five threshold in literacy, numeracy and problem solving in technology-rich environments. While still underperforming competitors, Canada doubled the number of doctoral degrees granted in science and engineering (per 100,000 population) between 2006 and 2012, moving from 19th to 17th position in international rankings. Climbing from 41 percent to 69 percent of the threshold of the top five performers, this was a notable improvement in Canada's performance on this indicator.

On R&D funding indicators, however, Canada's relative ranking (i.e., its competitiveness) showed signs of erosion. Canada's total funding of R&D activities (i.e., gross domestic expenditures on R&D (GERD)) remained essentially unchanged between 2008 and 2014, while other countries increased their funding. Canada's global ranking on GERD intensity (i.e., GERD as a share of GDP) fell from 16th in 2006 to 24th in 2013. Although Canada's higher education expenditures on R&D (HERD) increased over time, its competitiveness on HERD intensity (i.e., HERD as a share of GDP) declined, from third position in 2006 to eighth in 2013, as other countries increased their spending more.

The Way Forward

Addressing Canada's business innovation performance gap is critical to this country's future. Canada must increase the number of firms that embrace and effectively manage innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy. At the same time, Canada cannot afford to be complacent about its knowledge and talent advantages. Canada must keep pace with other countries that have been increasing their support for R&D at a faster rate.

All ST&I players share responsibility to reverse Canada's poor business innovation performance and grow its knowledge and talent advantages. While success requires that all players pursue excellence in their respective roles, at the same time all players must work more closely together, as a "system," to effect change.

To address Canada's ST&I performance challenges and build on our strengths, the Science, Technology and Innovation Council recommends that Canada:

Close the gap on firms' investment in innovation

It is business enterprise expenditures on R&D that is most closely linked to product and process innovation; thus it is critical that Canada's private sector significantly increase its investment in this area. A large natural resources industry is not an obstacle to achieving a higher BERD intensity. In fact, given the strategic importance of Canada's natural resources industry, this should be an area of ST&I leadership for Canada. Increased R&D investment must be accompanied by enhanced investments in other knowledge assets, especially talent and ICT.

Redress the imbalance of direct and indirect government funding for business R&D

Governments play an important role in supporting and incenting business innovation. While both direct and indirect R&D support are important, data show that Canada relies far more on indirect support than other countries. Governments in Canada should redress this imbalance, to provide more direct support for high-risk, high-reward business R&D, especially in industries of economic significance to Canada. The approach should be strategic, focused on fostering innovation in large firms and in high-growth SMEs with the potential to grow into significant players. Canada must increase the number of large, innovative firms to enhance future competitiveness and job growth, as larger firms are often more productive and tend to invest and to export more than smaller firms.

Embrace risk and ambition

Adopting innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy demands that firms become less averse to risk and more ambitious. Canada's venture capital industry can support this by more aggressively backing high-potential Canadian firms with innovative ideas and mentoring them through the innovation process. For governments to effectively support business innovation, they must be more innovative themselves, particularly in their procurement practices, where a culture of intelligent risk taking could help stimulate product and process innovation in firms. Educational institutions, for their part, should work more closely with industry to develop curricula that better integrate science and technology knowledge with a broader set of business, entrepreneurship and commercialization skills and that nurture creativity, intelligent risk taking and ambition.

Boost HERD investment levels

Investments in R&D and talent in the higher education sector help build a strong knowledge foundation for all sectors of Canada's ST&I ecosystem. Although federal and provincial funding levels for HERD have continued to increase, growth has not been sufficient to keep pace with other countries that are committing more resources at a faster rate. Our governments must renew their commitment to investing in the "intellectual infrastructure" required to keep Canada competitive in the knowledge-based economy.

Invest strategically

Enhancing Canada's ST&I performance requires investing differently, in a more strategic and coherent way to maximize the impact of investments across the ST&I ecosystem. This means targeting investments to build globally competitive scale and capacity in key areas of strength and opportunity. This also means integrating organizations, activities and funding mechanisms across the ST&I ecosystem. Each government in Canada should ensure that its innovation support programs are designed to reinforce and build upon one another, while also enabling and compelling collaboration across the innovation ecosystem. Each higher education institution should plan strategically across its institution, using government programs to expand capacity in areas where it can make a substantial difference.

Conclusions

A robust and vibrant ST&I ecosystem is critical to Canada's economic prosperity and high quality of life. Canada's weak business innovation performance threatens our global competitiveness. Our knowledge and talent foundation continues to be solid, but our investments to maintain these assets are slipping. All ST&I players share responsibility to reverse Canada's poor business innovation performance and grow its knowledge and talent advantages. Effecting change is demanding and complicated; but the need is urgent and compelling. Only with concerted action can Canada achieve the ST&I success needed to secure our future. STIC believes that Canada must, and can, rise to the challenge.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2014

Le système des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation au Canada : Défis et occasions en matière d'innovation au Canada

Résumé

Aperçu

Les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation (STI) assurent la prospérité économique et favorisent les progrès qui améliorent le bien-être de la société. La réussite au sein de l'économie mondiale du savoir repose sur un avantage concurrentiel durable en STI.

Malgré des efforts continus visant à améliorer le retard du Canada au chapitre de l'innovation des entreprises, la situation ne s'est pas redressée. Le Canada a perdu du terrain par rapport à ses concurrents mondiaux en ce qui a trait aux indicateurs de rendement clés, perte qui se reflète le plus dans les investissements du secteur privé en recherche et développement (R-D). L'intensité des dépenses intra-muros de R-D du secteur des entreprises (dirdE) du Canada, à savoir les dirdE comme pourcentage du produit intérieur brut, a diminué davantage de 2006 à 2013, au point que le Canada venait au 26e rang mondial et se situait à 36 % du seuil des cinq pays en tête du classement. L'enjeu majeur du Canada dans le secteur des STI est l'augmentation du nombre d'entreprises qui utilisent et gèrent l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance.

Si le Canada maintient de solides bases quant à la qualité des connaissances qu'il produit et à la formation de sa population, il ne doit pas faire preuve de complaisance. Pour maintenir et rehausser son niveau d'excellence, le pays doit investir au même rythme que ses concurrents.

C'est aux acteurs de l'écosystème des STI que revient la responsabilité d'améliorer le faible rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises et de renforcer ses avantages dans les domaines des connaissances et des talents. Pour y arriver, ils doivent travailler ensemble et autrement en suivant une approche systémique axée sur la collaboration, l'intégration et l'investissement stratégique. Voici ce que le Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation (CSTI) recommande au Canada afin qu'il puisse combler ses lacunes et miser sur ses forces :

  • réduire l'écart quant à l'investissement des entreprises dans l'innovation;
  • rétablir l'équilibre entre le financement public direct et indirect de la R-D des entreprises, de façon à offrir un meilleur soutien direct pour les projets de R-D qui comportent des risques et des avantages élevés;
  • encourager la prise de risques et la recherche du succès;
  • élever les niveaux de dépenses intra-muros de R-D du secteur de l'enseignement supérieur (dirdes) pour suivre le rythme des autres pays dans le financement de l'infrastructure intellectuelle;
  • investir de façon stratégique, en consacrant davantage de fonds publics à l'établissement d'une masse critique concurrentielle sur le plan mondial dans des domaines ciblés.

L'excellence en sciences, technologie et innovation (STI) est essentielle à la richesse et au bien-être du Canada. Grâce aux STI, les entreprises améliorent leur productivité et leur compétitivité et transforment leurs idées et inventions en de nouveaux produits et services qui alimentent les marchés. L'accroissement de la rentabilité par l'innovation leur permet de créer des emplois de qualité pour les Canadiens et de contribuer à l'augmentation de la richesse nationale. Parallèlement, les progrès en STI apportent des solutions aux perpétuels enjeux de société, que ce soit les soins de santé, l'environnement, la faim ou la pauvreté.

Le gouvernement du Canada a demandé au Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation (CSTI) d'évaluer régulièrement le rendement du Canada en STI par rapport aux pays concurrents et de produire des rapports à ce sujet. Dans son quatrième rapport L'état des lieux, le CSTI s'appuie sur ses travaux réalisés depuis le premier rapport, paru en 2008, pour analyser le rendement et les progrès du Canada en STI. Surtout, L'état des lieux en 2014 décrit la voie à suivre pour faire du Canada un chef de file mondial en STI.

Comme dans les versions précédentes, L'état des lieux en 2014 cherche à faire comprendre qu'un écosystème des STI dynamique s'appuie sur trois piliers :

  • i) des talents compétents et créatifs;
  • ii) des connaissances de haut niveau;
  • iii) un secteur privé innovant.

Les personnes talentueuses génèrent et améliorent les connaissances. Un secteur privé innovant convertit les connaissances en de nouveaux produits et procédés qui créent de la richesse. L'état des lieux en 2014 évalue le rendement du Canada en STI en examinant les facteurs qui favorisent la réussite et définissent le leadership pour chacun de ces trois piliers. Pour chaque facteur, des indicateurs acceptés à l'échelle mondiale servent à comparer le rendement du Canada avec celui des pays concurrents. Conformément à la pratique introduite dans L'état des lieux en 2012, l'analyse indique les cinq pays en tête du classement pour chaque indicateur ainsi que le seuil que doit atteindre le Canada pour s'y classer.

Le rapport sur le rendement

La conclusion centrale de L'état des lieux en 2014 est troublante : malgré des efforts continus visant à améliorer le retard du Canada sur le plan de l'innovation des entreprises, la situation ne s'est pas redressée. Le Canada a perdu davantage de terrain par rapport aux pays de comparaison en ce qui a trait aux indicateurs de rendement en innovation des entreprises, et l'écart avec les cinq pays en tête du classement s'est creusé.

L'innovation des entreprises privées est soutenue par les investissements dans la recherche-développement (R-D) et dans d'autres actifs cognitifs, y compris les talents et les technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC). Le secteur privé canadien n'investit plus dans ces actifs à un niveau qui soutient la concurrence mondiale. En plus de la baisse des investissements des entreprises dans la R-D, il est particulièrement inquiétant de voir que l'intensité des dépenses intra-muros de R-D du secteur des entreprises(dirdE) du Canada, à savoir les dirdE comme pourcentage du produit intérieur brut (PIB), a diminué de 2006 à 2013, au point que le Canada venait au 26e rang mondial et se situait à seulement 36 % du seuil des cinq pays en tête du classement. En outre, le Canada se situait au milieu du peloton quant à l'intensité des investissements dans les TIC, c'est-à-dire les investissements dans les TIC en pourcentage du PIB. En parallèle, la part de talents en STI dans le secteur privé était faible au Canada, qui se classait au 15e rang en 2012 et se situait à 66 % du seuil des cinq pays en tête du classement en ce qui a trait aux chercheurs dans l'industrie. Il s'agit d'une baisse considérable par rapport à sa 7e position en 2006.

Sur une note positive, les données montrent que les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) canadiennes étaient à l'avant-plan sur la scène mondiale dans l'introduction d'innovations relatives à des produits et des procédés, plaçant le Canada au 4e rang pour cette mesure. Cependant, les grandes entreprises accusaient un retard par rapport à leurs concurrentes mondiales, plaçant le Canada au 19e rang dans cette catégorie. Enfin, le Canada a continué de traîner de la patte pour ce qui est de l'équilibre entre le financement direct et indirect.

Même si le Canada avait pris du retard en innovation des entreprises, il a su maintenir une solide base de connaissances et de talents. Le Canada a préservé son excellente qualité de production de connaissances : ses universités étaient compétitives dans le deuxième tiers des pays au classement mondial, il s'est bâti une renommée en accueillant des chercheurs de pointe, et le nombre de citations d'articles de recherche canadiens (indice d'impact relatif) était encore supérieur à la moyenne mondiale.

La base de talents du Canada constituait toujours un atout : en 2012, il était aux premiers rangs des pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (ocde) pour la proportion de la population détenant un diplôme d'enseignement post-secondaire (en grande partie grâce au rôle des collèges dans le système d'éducation du Canada). Bien que le classement du Canada selon le Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (pisa) ait légèrement glissé, les Canadiens de 15 ans ont continué d'obtenir de bons résultats en compréhension de l'écrit, en mathématiques et en sciences. En 2013, les résultats des adultes canadiens étaient légèrement inférieurs à ceux des adultes des cinq pays en tête du classement en littératie, en numératie et en résolution de problèmes dans un environnement hautement technologique. Malgré un rendement inférieur à celui de ses concurrents, le Canada a doublé le nombre de doctorats décernés en sciences et en génie (par 100 000 habitants) de 2006 à 2012, passant de la 19e à la 17e place au classement mondial. Se situant à 69 % du seuil des cinq pays en tête du classement (comparativement à 41 %), il a nettement amélioré son rendement quant à cet indicateur.

Cependant, en ce qui a trait aux indicateurs de financement de la R-D, le classement relatif du Canada (c'est-à-dire sa compétitivité) semblait diminuer. De 2008 à 2013, le financement total des activités de R-D du Canada (soit les dépenses intérieures brutes en R-D ou dird) est demeuré essentiellement inchangé, alors que les autres pays ont augmenté leur financement. Le Canada est passé du 16e rang au 24e rang mondial pour l'intensité des dird (soit les dird en pourcentage du PIB) qui a diminué durant cette période. Bien que les dépenses intra-muros de recherche-développement du secteur de l'enseignement supérieur (dirdes) du Canada aient augmenté au fil du temps, sa compétitivité sur le plan de l'intensité des dirdes (soit les dirdes en pourcentage du PIB) a diminué; il est donc passé de la 3e position en 2006 à la 8e en 2013, alors que les autres pays ont augmenté encore plus leurs dépenses.

Stratégie d'avenir

Il est essentiel pour l'avenir du Canada de combler l'écart de rendement en innovation des entreprises. Le Canada doit augmenter le nombre d'entreprises qui utilisent et gèrent l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance. Parallèlement, il ne peut se contenter de ses avantages en ce qui touche les connaissances et les talents. Le Canada doit maintenir la cadence des autres pays ayant augmenté leur financement de la R-D à un rythme plus élevé.

Tous les acteurs des STI ont leur rôle à jouer dans l'amélioration du mauvais rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises et dans le renforcement de ses avantages dans le domaine des connaissances et des talents. Bien que, pour réussir et arriver à opérer un changement, tous les acteurs doivent viser l'excellence dans leurs domaines respectifs, ils doivent aussi collaborer étroitement, sur le modèle d'un « système ».

Pour s'attaquer aux défis du rendement du Canada quant aux STI et tirer parti de ses forces, le Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation recommande au Canada de :

Réduire l'écart pour ce qui est de l'investissement des entreprises dans l'innovation

Les dépenses des entreprises en R-D sont les plus étroitement liées à l'innovation ayant trait aux produits et aux procédés. Le secteur privé canadien se doit donc d'accroître considérablement ses investissements en R-D. Une grande industrie des ressources naturelles n'est pas un obstacle à l'augmentation de l'intensité des dirdE. En effet, compte tenu de l'importance stratégique de son industrie des ressources naturelles, le Canada devrait être un chef de file en STI dans ce secteur. La hausse des dépenses en R-D doit être accompagnée d'une augmentation des investissements dans d'autres actifs cognitifs, notamment les talents et les technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC).

Rétablir l'équilibre entre le financement public direct et indirect de la R-D des entreprises

Les gouvernements jouent un rôle important dans le soutien et la stimulation de l'innovation des entreprises. Bien que le financement direct de la R-D soit aussi important que le financement indirect, les données montrent que le Canada se fie davantage au soutien indirect que les autres pays. Les administrations du Canada doivent rétablir cet équilibre afin d'offrir un meilleur soutien direct pour les projets de R-D qui comportent des risques et des avantages élevés, notamment dans les industries de grande valeur pour l'économie canadienne. Leur démarche doit être stratégique et axée sur la promotion de l'innovation dans les grandes entreprises et les PME à forte croissance ayant le potentiel de devenir des acteurs de premier plan. Le Canada doit augmenter le nombre de grandes entreprises innovantes en vue de favoriser la compétitivité et la croissance de l'emploi, puisque ces dernières sont souvent plus productives et qu'elles ont tendance à investir et à exporter davantage que les plus petites entreprises.

Encourager la prise de risques et la recherche du succès

L'adoption de l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance exige des entreprises qu'elles soient moins prudentes et plus ambitieuses. L'industrie du capital de risque du Canada peut contribuer à cet objectif en appuyant de façon plus active les entreprises canadiennes à potentiel élevé qui ont des idées novatrices et en les encadrant dans le processus d'innovation. Pour pouvoir encourager l'innovation des entreprises, les gouvernements doivent eux-mêmes être plus innovateurs, notamment dans leurs pratiques d'approvisionnement, où une culture axée sur la prise de risques calculés pourrait aider à stimuler l'innovation portant sur les produits et procédés dans les entreprises. Pour leur part, les établissements d'enseignement doivent collaborer plus étroitement avec l'industrie afin d'élaborer des programmes qui intègrent les connaissances scientifiques et technologiques à un ensemble plus large de compétences en affaires, en entrepreneuriat et en commercialisation et qui favorisent la créativité, la prise de risques calculés et la recherche du succès.

Élever les niveaux de dirdes

Les investissements en R-D et en talents dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur aident à établir une bonne base de connaissances pour tous les secteurs de l'écosystème des STI du Canada. Bien que les niveaux de financement fédéral et provincial associés aux dirdes aient continué d'augmenter, cette hausse ne suffit pas à maintenir le rythme des autres pays qui y consacrent plus de ressources plus rapidement. Les administrations canadiennes doivent renouveler leur engagement à investir dans une infrastructure intellectuelle dont le pays a besoin pour demeurer compétitif dans l'économie du savoir.

Investir de façon stratégique

Pour améliorer le rendement du Canada en STI, il faut investir différemment, d'une manière plus stratégique et cohérente qui maximisera les retombées des investissements pour l'écosystème des STI. En d'autres termes, le Canada doit cibler les investissements afin d'offrir des perspectives et des avantages compétitifs à l'échelle mondiale dans les secteurs clés de ses forces et de ses possibilités, ces deux éléments étant primordiaux. Il faut aussi intégrer les organisations, les activités et les mécanismes de financement à l'écosystème des STI. Chaque administration canadienne doit s'assurer que ses programmes de soutien de l'innovation sont conçus pour se renforcer mutuellement et se compléter, tout en permettant et en encourageant la collaboration au sein de l'écosystème de l'innovation. Chaque établissement d'enseignement supérieur doit planifier de façon stratégique, à l'aide de programmes gouvernementaux, le renforcement de sa capacité dans les domaines où un changement significatif est possible.

Conclusion

Un écosystème des STI solide et dynamique est essentiel à la prospérité économique du Canada et à la qualité de vie élevée de ses citoyens. Le mauvais rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises menace sa compétitivité mondiale. Sa base de connaissances et de talents demeure solide, mais les sommes investies pour maintenir ces actifs diminuent. Tous les acteurs des STI ont leur rôle à jouer dans l'amélioration du mauvais rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises et dans le renforcement de ses avantages en ce qui touche les connaissances et les talents. La mise en œuvre d'un changement est exigeante et compliquée, mais elle est manifestement urgente. Seule une action concertée permettrait au Canada de connaître le succès en STI qu'il lui faut pour assurer son avenir. Le CSTI croit que le Canada doit et peut relever le défi.