State of the Nation 2014

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation System: Canada's Innovation Challenges and Opportunities

Chapter 5: Conclusion — shaping canada's future through science, technology and innovation

Science, technology and innovation (ST&I) drive productivity and competitiveness, and generate solutions to health, environmental and social challenges. Proactively pursuing and achieving a sustainable competitive advantage in ST&I and joining the ranks of the world's top performers is the path to higher living standards and a superior quality of life for Canadians.

State of the Nation 2014 confirms what previous State of the Nation reports have found: Canada has a solid foundation in its educated population and the quality of its knowledge production. Canadians can rightfully be proud of this, but we must not be complacent about it. Maintaining and enhancing excellence requires investment. In recent years, other countries have been increasing their research and development (R&D) funding at a faster pace than Canada — a reality reflected in the erosion of Canada's relative ranking, i.e., its competitiveness, on R&D funding indicators. Canada must keep pace by boosting its investments, to protect and grow our knowledge and talent advantages.

Canada is not globally competitive in business innovation. In the components that define success in this area, Canada is falling further behind its global competitors…

It is in relation to business innovation that Canada faces its most profound and urgent ST&I challenge. The analysis in this report confirms a disturbing conclusion: Canada is not globally competitive in business innovation. In the components that define success in this area, Canada is falling further behind its global competitors and facing a widening gap with the world's top five performing countries.

Business innovation is crucial to translating our knowledge and talent advantages into the productivity gains and marketable products that bring prosperity. Canada must increase the number of firms that embrace and effectively manage innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy. However, our collective efforts to address poor business innovation performance appear to have had little or no impact. It is clear that doing the same things in the same ways will not work; we must significantly change our approach if we are to make material gains in improving Canada's business innovation performance.

Responsibility for reversing Canada's poor business innovation performance and growing its knowledge and talent advantages rests with all players. The ST&I ecosystem is characterized by a complex, dynamic, interdependent web of competition and collaboration. While success requires that all players pursue excellence in their respective roles, at the same time all players must work more closely together, as a "system," to effect change. This is not simply a matter of collaborating more; it is about better integrating organizations, activities and funding mechanisms into a more coherent, coordinated whole. It is about governments, higher education institutions (HEIs) and firms developing and using programs and policies more strategically. By adopting a "systems" approach, we can realize more impact from the ST&I investments we make.

Informed action to enhance Canada's ST&I performance requires an in-depth understanding of our ST&I progress, challenges and opportunities. As noted throughout this report, a lack of reliable Canadian and international data on some components constrains this understanding. Thus collection and analysis of Canadian and international ST&I data need to be significantly improved. In health care, for example, the federal government established the Canadian Institute for Health Information, which collects relevant and useful data in a standardized format from all provinces and territories. This information provides a better understanding of the state of Canadian health care, i.e., areas for improvement and intervention, and progress made towards a better system. It is time to establish a similar initiative on ST&I data collection and analysis, to provide meaningful and relevant measures of Canada's performance. What is not measured cannot be managed.

The Way Forward

Business Innovation

Canada's top ST&I priority must be to increase the number of firms that embrace and effectively manage innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy.

Canada's top ST&I priority must be to increase the number of firms that embrace and effectively manage innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy. This is, first and foremost, the responsibility of the private sector, but governments play an important role in incenting innovation. To be effective in fostering innovation, governments themselves must build their own internal culture of innovation and embrace the importance of ST&I.

Three core strategies should drive action to enhance Canada's business innovation performance:

Close the gap on firms' investment in innovation

In the increasingly competitive knowledge-based economy, innovation is the key to expanding market share and boosting profits. It is business enterprise expenditures on research and development (BERD) that is most closely linked to product and process innovation; thus it is critical that Canada's private sector significantly increase its investment in R&D (reflected in the aspirational indicator of BERD intensity). As demonstrated in Chapter 2, a large natural resources industry is not an obstacle to achieving a higher BERD intensity. In fact, given the strength and strategic importance of Canada's natural resources industry, this should be an area of ST&I leadership for Canada.

Business investment in information and communications technologies (ICT) must also increase (reflected in the aspirational indicator of ICT investment intensity), as ICT enables innovation and contributes to productivity growth. Increased investments in R&D and ICT will, in turn, drive more demand in industry for advanced talent and enhance firms' capacity to use that talent to the best advantage. This will be reflected in improved Canadian performance on the aspirational indicator of human resources in science and technology and the subset of researchers in industry.

Canada's business associations should be more proactive in helping member firms understand the role of innovation and how to effectively manage it, and in providing networks and tools to support it. Specific initiatives could include:

  • "matchmaking" services to encourage large firms to procure new technologies from innovative small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs);
  • mentoring, where experienced business people provide hands-on guidance to entrepreneurs and SMEs on commercializing ideas and growing innovative companies; and
  • "bridging" opportunities to help firms (especially SMEs) identify and hire ST&I talent.
Redress the imbalance of direct and indirect government funding for business R&D

While the decision to invest in innovation rests with firms, governments can use their direct and indirect R&D support mechanisms to support and incent private-sector R&D. While both direct and indirect support are important, Canada relies far more on indirect support, i.e., the tax system, than other countries. The federal and provincial governments should redress the imbalance of direct and indirect support, to provide more direct support to firms for high-risk, high-reward R&D projects. Through direct support, governments can share risk with the private sector in the pursuit of next-generation products and processes. Direct support, allocated on the basis of competitive excellence, can also better incent innovation by rewarding only the most innovative firms.

In redressing the imbalance of direct and indirect funding for business R&D, governments should focus incremental support where it will have the most impact. At the industry level, this means focusing on industries of economic significance to Canada, building on existing R&D and innovation strengths. At the firm level, governments need to study more closely the performance of large firms and SMEs in introducing product and process innovations. Data indicate that Canada's large firms lag their international competitors, while our SMEs are among the world's leaders. This suggests that governments in Canada should focus on improving the innovation performance of large firms and supporting and incenting the growth of innovative SMEs. Canada must increase the number of large, innovative firms to enhance future competitiveness and job growth, as larger firms are often more productive and tend to invest and to export more than smaller firms.

Embrace risk and ambition

Adopting innovation as a competitiveness and growth strategy inherently demands that firms become less averse to risk and more ambitious. Underpinning this approach is the capacity to understand and to comprehensively and effectively manage innovation through all phases of firm growth.

Again, this responsibility ultimately lies with firms, but others in the ST&I ecosystem can help drive it. Canada's home-grown venture capital industry can help foster a business innovation culture of intelligent risk taking and ambition by more aggressively backing high-potential Canadian firms with innovative ideas and mentoring them through the innovation process. As noted above, the federal and provincial governments can encourage ambition by helping to mitigate the risks associated with R&D through increased direct support for high-risk, high-reward projects. For governments to effectively support innovation in industry, they must embrace innovation. In particular, the federal and provincial governments can help drive innovation and ambition in firms through more innovative, risk-tolerant use of procurement. For inspiration, Canadian governments can look to managers at the United States' Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, who are not only encouraged but also mandated to pursue high-risk technologies even where there is a reasonable chance of failure.

Education is fundamental to nurturing the type of innovation culture necessary for securing Canada's competitiveness. Innovation and entrepreneurship should be required core competencies at all levels of education. Educational institutions, working in close concert with the private sector, should develop curricula that integrate science and technology knowledge with a broader set of business, entrepreneurship and commercialization skills, and that nurture creativity, intelligent risk taking and ambition. Formal learning should be complemented by "hands-on," work-integrated learning that only employers can offer. Governments at all levels should enhance incentives that encourage firms to provide work-integrated learning opportunities to students and graduates and that offer "bridging" opportunities to help firms, especially SMEs, hire ST&I talent.

Knowledge and Talent

While urgently addressing Canada's business innovation challenge, we cannot be complacent about the other two key pillars of our ST&I ecosystem: we can and must do more to protect and grow our knowledge and talent advantages. Two core strategies should drive action in this area:

Boost higher education expenditures on research and development (herd) investment levels

Investments in R&D and talent in the higher education sector help build a strong knowledge foundation for all sectors of Canada's ST&I ecosystem. Although federal and provincial funding levels for herd have continued to increase, growth has not been sufficient to keep pace with other countries that are committing more resources and at a faster rate. Our governments must renew their commitment to higher education R&D. This commitment, manifested in the aspirational indicator of herd intensity, is vital to ensuring the "intellectual infrastructure" required to keep Canada competitive in the knowledge-based economy.

Invest strategically

It is not just about investing more. The type of improved ST&I performance that the Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC) is calling for requires investing differently, in a more strategic and coherent way that will maximize the impact of investments across the ST&I ecosystem. This begins with a fundamental shift in attitude and approach.

Firstly, given Canada's limited size, targeted investments are required to build globally competitive scale and capacity in key areas of strength and opportunity. While the principle of excellence must always be respected, this nonetheless requires a sharper focus on priorities, and hard decisions on reallocation of some existing resources to areas where they will have the greatest impact.

Some promising federal initiatives have been introduced in recent years that may contribute to enhancing capacity in key areas. Notable examples include the Canada Excellence Research Chairs and the Canada First Research Excellence Fund, both designed to support world-class researchers and ambitious research programs at HEIs. However, while these initiatives are an important step, they are not sufficient to achieve the scale that Canada needs to be truly competitive internationally. More is required, including increasing investment in those universities with the greatest potential of joining the ranks of the world's top research institutions.

Secondly, investing differently is grounded in the "systems" approach described above, in integrating organizations, activities and funding mechanisms across the ST&I ecosystem in a more coherent way. Each government in Canada should ensure that its own R&D and innovation support programs are designed to link research, talent, infrastructure and commercialization mechanisms to reinforce and build upon one another. The federal and provincial governments should work more closely together to design and deliver R&D and innovation support programs focused on outcomes. In addition, government programs should both enable and compel collaboration among academic, industrial and government researchers, with funding mechanisms that do not impose (sometimes unintended) hurdles to partnerships. This type of "systems" approach should be mirrored at the program user level. Each HEI should plan strategically across its institution, using government programs to expand capacity in areas where it can make a substantial difference. HEIs should also reach across institutional boundaries to collaborate more with one another and with researchers in both industry and government.

Conclusions

A robust and vibrant ST&I ecosystem is critical to Canada's economic prosperity and high quality of life. All ST&I players share responsibility to reverse Canada's poor business innovation performance and grow its knowledge and talent advantages. Effecting change is demanding and complicated; but the need is urgent and compelling. STIC believes that Canada must, and can, rise to the challenge.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2014

Le système des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation au Canada : Défis et occasions en matière d'innovation au Canada

Chapitre 5 : Conclusion — bâtir l'avenir du canada grâce aux sciences, à la technologie et à l'innovation

Les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation (STI) stimulent la productivité et la compétitivité, en plus d'apporter des solutions aux défis liés à la santé, à l'environnement et à la société. Pour assurer un niveau et une qualité de vie supérieurs à ses habitants, le Canada doit rechercher de façon proactive (et obtenir) un avantage concurrentiel durable en STI, en plus de joindre les rangs des pays les mieux classés.

L'état des lieux en 2014 confirme les observations des rapports précédents : le Canada possède de solides bases quant à la formation de sa population et à la qualité de sa production de connaissances. Les Canadiens peuvent en être fiers, sans toutefois tomber dans la complaisance. Il faut investir dans le maintien et le rehaussement de l'excellence. Ces dernières années, d'autres pays ont augmenté leur financement de la recherche-développement (R-D) plus rapidement que le Canada, comme en témoigne la baisse du classement relatif du Canada (c'est-à-dire sa compétitivité) en ce qui a trait aux indicateurs de financement de la R-D. Le Canada doit suivre le rythme en accroissant ses investissements de façon à assurer et à renforcer ses avantages concernant les connaissances et les talents.

À l'échelle mondiale, le Canada n'est pas compétitif sur le plan de l'innovation des entreprises. Pour ce qui est des facteurs de réussite dans ce domaine, l'écart se creuse entre le Canada et ses concurrents mondiaux…

Pour le Canada, l'innovation des entreprises représente l'enjeu majeur dans le secteur des STI. L'analyse fournie dans le présent rapport confirme une conclusion alarmante : à l'échelle mondiale, le Canada n'est pas compétitif sur le plan de l'innovation des entreprises. Pour ce qui est des facteurs de réussite dans ce domaine, l'écart se creuse entre le Canada et ses concurrents mondiaux, particulièrement les cinq pays en tête du classement.

L'innovation des entreprises est essentielle pour que le Canada puisse convertir ses avantages quant aux connaissances et aux talents en gains de productivité et en produits commercialisables qui assureront sa prospérité. Le Canada doit augmenter le nombre d'entreprises qui utilisent et gèrent l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance. Toutefois, les efforts déployés collectivement pour améliorer le rendement au chapitre de l'innovation des entreprises ne semblent avoir eu que très peu d'effets, voire aucun. Il est évident que nous n'avancerons à rien en faisant toujours les mêmes choses de la même façon. Nous devons revoir sérieusement notre façon de procéder si nous voulons améliorer le rendement du Canada en ce qui concerne l'innovation des entreprises.

Tous les acteurs ont leur rôle à jouer dans l'amélioration du mauvais rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises et dans le renforcement de ses avantages dans les domaines des connaissances et des talents. L'écosystème des STI est un ensemble d'éléments complexes, dynamiques et interdépendants de concurrence et de collaboration. Bien que, pour réussir, tous les acteurs doivent viser l'excellence dans leurs domaines respectifs, ils doivent aussi collaborer étroitement, sur le modèle d'un système, pour effectuer des changements. Il ne s'agit pas simplement d'augmenter la collaboration, mais d'intégrer les organisations, les activités et les mécanismes de financement dans un ensemble plus cohérent et coordonné. De leur côté, les gouvernements, les établissements d'enseignement supérieur et les entreprises doivent créer et mettre en œuvre des programmes d'une manière plus stratégique. L'adoption d'une approche systémique permettra d'accroître les retombées des investissements en STI.

Pour améliorer le rendement du Canada en STI, il faut bien connaître et comprendre les progrès qu'il a réalisés dans ce domaine, de même que les défis et les occasions qui se présentent. Comme le mentionne le présent rapport, cette compréhension est limitée à certains égards par l'absence de données fiables concernant le Canada et les autres pays. C'est pourquoi il faut grandement améliorer la collecte et l'analyse de données sur les STI au Canada et à l'étranger.

Par exemple, dans le domaine de la santé, l'administration fédérale a créé l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé, qui recueille des données pertinentes et utiles selon une méthode normalisée auprès de l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires. Voilà qui permet de mieux comprendre l'état du système de santé au Canada, c'est-à-dire les points à améliorer ainsi que les mesures prises et les progrès réalisés. Le temps est venu d'entreprendre une initiative semblable pour compiler et analyser les données sur les STI et ainsi réellement mesurer le rendement du Canada. Ce qui n'est pas mesurable n'est pas gérable.

Stratégie d'avenir

Innovation des entreprises

La grande priorité pour le Canada en STI est d'augmenter le nombre d'entreprises qui utilisent et gèrent l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance.

La grande priorité pour le Canada en STI est d'augmenter le nombre d'entreprises qui utilisent et gèrent l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance. Cette responsabilité revient d'abord au secteur privé, mais les gouvernements ont aussi un rôle incitatif à jouer. Pour arriver à stimuler l'innovation, les gouvernements doivent d'abord favoriser une culture axée sur l'innovation et reconnaître l'importance des STI au sein de leur propre administration.

Le Canada devrait adopter trois stratégies de base pour améliorer le rendement des entreprises en innovation :

Réduire l'écart de l'investissement des entreprises dans l'innovation

L'innovation est indispensable à l'augmentation de la part de marché et des profits dans une économie de plus en plus concurrentielle et axée sur le savoir. Les dépenses intra-muros de R-D du secteur des entreprises (DIRDE) sont les plus étroitement liées à l'innovation ayant trait à des produits et des procédés. Le secteur privé canadien se doit donc d'accroître considérablement ses investissements en R-D (comme le montre l'indicateur cible de l'intensité des DIRDE). Comme le mentionne le chapitre 2, une grande industrie des ressources naturelles n'est pas un obstacle à l'augmentation de l'intensité des DIRDE. En effet, compte tenu de l'importance stratégique de son industrie des ressources naturelles, le Canada devrait être un chef de file en STI dans ce secteur.

Les entreprises doivent également investir davantage dans les technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC) (comme en témoigne l'indicateur cible de l'intensité des investissements dans les TIC), qui favorisent l'innovation et la croissance de la productivité. L'augmentation des dépenses en R-D et en TIC stimulera la demande dans l'industrie pour des talents de premier ordre et renforcera la capacité des entreprises à tirer le meilleur parti de ces talents. Ces changements se traduiront par un rendement accru du Canada quant à l'indicateur cible des ressources humaines en sciences et technologie et au sous-groupe des chercheurs dans l'industrie.

Les associations professionnelles du Canada doivent être davantage proactives et aider leurs membres à comprendre l'importance de l'innovation et la façon de bien la gérer, tout en leur fournissant les réseaux et les outils nécessaires. Voici des exemples d'initiatives à entreprendre :

  • « jumelage » visant à encourager les grandes entreprises à se procurer de nouvelles technologies auprès de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) innovantes;
  • mentorat permettant aux gens d'affaires d'expérience de donner des conseils pratiques aux entrepreneurs et aux PME sur la commercialisation des idées et le développement de sociétés innovantes;
  • occasions d'intégration pour aider les entreprises (surtout les PME) à trouver et à embaucher des personnes talentueuses en STI.
Rétablir l'équilibre entre le financement public direct et indirect de la R-D des entreprises

Même si la décision d'investir dans l'innovation relève des entreprises, les gouvernements peuvent faire appel à des mécanismes de financement direct et indirect pour soutenir et encourager la R-D dans le secteur privé. Bien que le financement direct soit aussi important que le financement indirect, le Canada se fie davantage au soutien indirect (c'est-à-dire au système fiscal) que les autres pays. Les administrations fédérale et provinciales doivent rétablir l'équilibre entre le financement direct et indirect, de façon à offrir un meilleur soutien direct aux entreprises pour leurs projets de R-D qui comportent des risques et des avantages élevés. Grâce au soutien direct, le secteur public et le secteur privé peuvent se partager les risques liés à la recherche et au développement d'une nouvelle génération de produits et de procédés. Le financement direct, accordé en fonction de l'excellence concurrentielle, peut aussi encourager l'innovation en récompensant les entreprises les plus innovantes.

Pour rétablir l'équilibre entre le financement direct et indirect de la R-D des entreprises, les gouvernements doivent apporter un soutien additionnel aux projets dont les retombées seront les plus importantes. Ils doivent donc cibler les industries de grande valeur pour l'économie canadienne, en tirant parti de leurs forces en R-D et en innovation. De plus, ils doivent étudier à fond le rendement des petites et grandes entreprises quant à l'introduction d'innovations relatives à des produits et des procédés. Les données révèlent que les grandes entreprises du Canada accusent du retard par rapport à leurs concurrentes mondiales, tandis que les PME figurent en tête de liste. Ces observations suggèrent que les administrations canadiennes doivent avant tout travailler à améliorer le rendement des grandes entreprises au chapitre de l'innovation et à favoriser la croissance des PME innovantes. Le Canada doit augmenter le nombre de grandes entreprises innovantes en vue de favoriser la compétitivité et la croissance de l'emploi, puisque les grandes entreprises sont souvent plus productives et qu'elles ont tendance à investir et à exporter davantage que les PME.

Encourager la prise de risques et la recherche du succès

L'adoption de l'innovation comme stratégie de compétitivité et de croissance exige des entreprises qu'elles soient fondamentalement moins prudentes et plus ambitieuses. Pour y arriver, elles doivent être en mesure de comprendre l'innovation et de bien en gérer tous les aspects à chacune des étapes de leur croissance.

Rappelons que cette responsabilité revient aux entreprises, mais que d'autres acteurs de l'écosystème des STI peuvent apporter leur contribution. L'industrie du capital de risque du Canada peut aider à instaurer une culture de l'innovation des entreprises, axée sur la prise de risques calculés et l'ambition, en appuyant de façon plus active les entreprises canadiennes à potentiel élevé qui ont des idées novatrices et en les encadrant dans le processus d'innovation. Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux peuvent encourager la recherche du succès en contribuant à atténuer les risques associés à la R-D. Pour ce faire, ils doivent augmenter le financement direct des projets à risques et à avantages élevés. Si elles veulent encourager l'innovation dans l'industrie, les administrations fédérale et provinciales doivent elles-mêmes appuyer l'innovation. Plus particulièrement, elles doivent encourager l'innovation et la recherche du succès dans les entreprises grâce à des mécanismes d'approvisionnement plus innovateurs et moins prudents. Les gouvernements canadiens peuvent prendre exemple sur les gestionnaires de la Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency aux États-Unis, qui sont non seulement encouragés à rechercher des technologies à risque élevé ayant des chances d'insuccès, mais aussi mandatés pour le faire.

La formation est essentielle à la promotion d'une telle culture de l'innovation qui assurera la compétitivité du Canada. L'innovation et l'entrepreneuriat doivent être des compétences essentielles à tous les niveaux de formation. Les établissements d'enseignement, en collaboration étroite avec le secteur privé, doivent élaborer des programmes qui intègrent les connaissances scientifiques et technologiques à un ensemble plus large de compétences en affaires, en entrepreneuriat et en commercialisation et qui favorisent la créativité, la prise de risques calculés et la recherche du succès. L'apprentissage formel doit venir compléter l'apprentissage pratique intégré au travail offert par l'employeur. Tous les ordres de gouvernement doivent proposer davantage d'incitatifs qui encouragent les entreprises à offrir aux élèves et aux diplômés des occasions d'apprentissage intégré au travail et qui permettent aux entreprises, surtout aux PME, d'embaucher et d'intégrer des personnes talentueuses en STI.

Connaissances et talents

La priorité la plus urgente est d'améliorer le rendement du Canada pour ce qui est de l'innovation des entreprises. Cependant, il ne faut pas négliger les deux autres piliers de l'écosystème des STI : nous pouvons et devons assurer et renforcer les avantages du Canada en ce qui concerne les connaissances et les talents. Voici les deux grandes stratégies à adopter à cet égard :

Élever les niveaux d'investissement dans la recherche-développement du secteur de l'enseignement supérieur (DIRDES)

Les investissements en R-D et en talents dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur aident à établir une bonne base de connaissances pour tous les secteurs de l'écosystème des STI du Canada. Bien que les niveaux de financement fédéral et provincial associés aux DIRDES aient continué d'augmenter, cette hausse ne suffit pas à maintenir le rythme des autres pays qui y consacrent plus de ressources plus rapidement. Les administrations canadiennes doivent renouveler leur engagement envers la R-D dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur. Cet engagement, représenté dans l'indicateur cible de l'intensité des DIRDES, est vital au maintien de l'infrastructure intellectuelle dont le Canada a besoin pour demeurer compétitif dans l'économie du savoir.

Investir de façon stratégique

Il ne s'agit plus seulement d'investir. Pour améliorer le rendement du Canada en STI dans la mesure souhaitée par le Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation (CSTI), il faut investir différemment, d'une manière plus stratégique et cohérente, qui maximisera les retombées des investissements pour l'écosystème des STI. Tout commence par un changement fondamental d'attitude et de méthode. Tout d'abord, compte tenu de la petite taille de l'économie canadienne, il faut cibler les investissements afin d'offrir des perspectives et des avantages compétitifs à l'échelle mondiale, ces deux éléments étant primordiaux. Tout en respectant le principe de l'excellence, il faut mettre l'accent sur les priorités et prendre des décisions difficiles quant à la réaffectation de ressources aux endroits où elles seront les plus utiles.

Certaines initiatives prometteuses lancées par le gouvernement fédéral au cours des dernières années pourraient aider à renforcer la capacité dans les domaines clés. Citons entre autres les chaires d'excellence en recherche du Canada et le Fonds d'excellence en recherche Apogée Canada, tous conçus pour soutenir les chercheurs éminents et les programmes de recherche ambitieux dans les établissements d'enseignement supérieur. Bien que ces initiatives constituent un pas en avant, elles ne suffisent pas à permettre au Canada d'atteindre le niveau souhaité pour réellement concurrencer les autres pays. D'autres mesures s'imposent, notamment l'augmentation des investissements dans les universités les mieux placées pour joindre les rangs des meilleurs établissements de recherche au monde.

Ensuite, l'idée d'investir différemment repose sur l'approche systémique décrite précédemment : il faut intégrer les organisations, les activités et les mécanismes de financement à l'écosystème des STI de manière plus cohérente. Chaque administration canadienne doit s'assurer que ses programmes de soutien de la R-D et de l'innovation sont conçus de façon à ce que la recherche, les talents, l'infrastructure et les mécanismes de commercialisation soient interreliés et se complètent. Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux doivent collaborer plus étroitement à la conception et à la mise en œuvre de programmes de soutien de la R-D et de l'innovation axés sur les résultats. En outre, les programmes publics doivent à la fois favoriser et forcer la collaboration entre les chercheurs universitaires, industriels et gouvernementaux grâce à des mécanismes de financement qui ne viennent pas nuire (même involontairement) à l'établissement de partenariats. Ce type d'approche systémique doit aussi être adopté pour les utilisateurs des programmes. Chaque établissement d'enseignement supérieur doit planifier de façon stratégique, à l'aide de programmes gouvernementaux, le renforcement de sa capacité dans les domaines où un changement significatif est possible. Les établissements d'enseignement supérieur doivent également collaborer davantage entre eux et avec les chercheurs de l'industrie et du secteur public.

Conclusion

Un écosystème des STI solide et dynamique est essentiel à la prospérité économique du Canada et à la qualité de vie élevée de ses citoyens. Tous les acteurs des STI ont leur rôle à jouer dans l'amélioration du mauvais rendement du Canada en innovation des entreprises et dans le renforcement de ses avantages dans les domaines des connaissances et des talents. La mise en œuvre d'un changement est exigeante et compliquée, mais elle est manifestement urgente. Le CSTI croit que le Canada doit et peut relever le défi.