State of the Nation 2014

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation System: Canada's Innovation Challenges and Opportunities

Annex 2: An innovative private sector

Business Enterprise Expenditures on Research and Development (berd) and berd Intensity in Canada

Figure 2A: berd and berd Intensity in Canada, 2000–2015

Bar chart of business enterprise expenditures on research and development (BERD) and BERD intensity in Canada, 2000–2015 (the long description is located below the image)

Sources: Statistics Canada, Table 358-0024 (accessed July 16, 2015); oecd, Main Science and Technology Indicators, January 2015.

Description of figure 2A

For almost a decade, business enterprise expenditures on research and development (berd) in Canada have generally been in decline. As noted in Chapter 2, from 2006 to 2015, berd declined by more than $1 billion, reflecting a decrease of about 6 percent over the period. Although berd reached $16.894 billion in 2011, a gradual decrease began in 2012, with berd falling to $15.462 billion in 2015.

The percentage of firms in Canada that perform research and development (R&D) (i.e., the R&D participation rate) remained steady since the 2006 baseline at 2.2 percent in both 2006 and 2012 (the most recent year for which data are available). The R&D participation rate was much higher among manufacturing firms than service firms (17.3 percent compared with 1.6 percent). However, many manufacturing industries saw decreases in the R&D participation rate from 2006 to 2012, including the pharmaceutical industry (from 50.6 percent in 2006 to 47.5 percent in 2012) and the communications equipment industry (from 55.7 percent in 2006 to 52.3 percent in 2012).42 Overall, the R&D participation rate of manufacturing firms decreased by about 1 percent from 2006 to 2012; conversely, the R&D participation rate of service firms increased by about 2 percent.

Among service industries, scientific research and development services had the greatest R&D participation rate (41 percent in 2011), followed by computer system design and related services (12.5 percent) and information and cultural industries (10.3 percent). Firms in other service industries had far lower R&D participation rates, including those important to the Canadian economy (e.g., the finance, insurance and real estate industry, at 0.6 percent).

Product and Process Innovation in Canada, by Industry

Figure 2B-1: Product Innovation by Industry

Bar chart of product innovation by industry, in percentage of surveyed firms (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada, Table 358-0221 (accessed October 20, 2014).

* 2007–2009 data unreliable.
** 2010–2012 data unreliable.

Description of figure 2B-1

While Chapter 2 provided an international comparison of the introduction of product and process innovation, the data provided here dig deeper into the performance of different industries within Canada, using Statistics Canada's Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (sibs). The survey has been conducted twice, first looking at innovations introduced during the 2007–2009 period and, most recently, at those innovations introduced between 2010 and 2012.

While firm investment in R&D is critical, data on berd do not necessarily capture all innovating firms in Canada as R&D is not always a necessary input to innovation. Some of the most innovative firms in the world are not among the top R&D spenders globally.43 While only 2.2 percent of all firms in Canada performed R&D in 2012,44 35.1 percent of firms participating in the sibs reported introducing a product innovation between 2010 and 2012 (up slightly from 34.8 percent between 2007 and 2009) and 29 percent reported introducing a process innovation (down from 33.5 percent).45

Figure 2B-2: Process Innovation by Industry

Process innovation by industry (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada, Table 358-0221 (accessed October 20, 2014).

* 2007–2009 data unreliable.
** 2010–2012 data unreliable.

Description of figure 2B-2

In Canada, the share of firms introducing innovations differs considerably by industry. Some industries are more oriented towards product innovation and others towards process innovation. The performance of a number of industries in introducing product and process innovations declined between 2007 and 2009 and between 2010 and 2012, including manufacturing, information and cultural industries, wholesale trade, and transportation and warehousing. The share of firms introducing process innovations declined in almost all industries between the two periods.

Natural resources industries are often cited as an area in which a lot of innovation may be occurring that is not captured in R&D-based indicators. Yet within mining, quarrying and oil and gas extraction, about one quarter of firms reported introducing either a product or process innovation between 2010 and 2012. This is below the percentage reported for all surveyed firms in Canada. Those industries that reported introducing product and process innovations above the percentage reported for all surveyed firms in Canada tend to be related to professional, scientific and technical services; manufacturing; and information and cultural industries.

International Comparison of the Change in Multifactor Productivity

Figure 2C: International Comparison of the Change in Multifactor Productivity, 1995–2013

Bar chart of international comparison of the change in multifactor productivity, 1995–2013 (annual percentage) (the long description is located below the image)

Source: oecd, Growth in GDP per Capita, Productivity and Unit Labour Cost (ULC) (accessed October 22, 2015).

Description of figure 2C

International Comparison of Export Market Share in R&D-Intensive Industries

Figure 2D: International Comparison of Export Market Share in R&D-Intensive Industries, 2013

Bar chart of international comparison of export market share in R&D-intensive industries, 2013 (percentage)  (the long description is located below the image)

Source: oecd, Main Science and Technology Indicators, January 2015.

Description of figure 2D


42 Statistics Canada, Industrial Research and Development: Intentions 2013, Catalogue no. 88-202-X; and Statistics Canada, Industrial Research and Development: Intentions 2015, Catalogue no. 88-202-X. Return to text

43 Strategy&, The Top Innovators and Spenders, 2015. Return to text

44 Statistics Canada, Industrial Research and Development: Intentions 2015, Catalogue no. 88-202-X. Return to text

45 Because the sibs excludes firms with fewer than 20 employees, a large number of non-innovating firms may not be captured in the sibs data. As a result, the total share of firms innovating in Canada is likely to be lower than the share reported by the sibs. Return to text

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2014

Le système des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation au Canada : Défis et occasions en matière d'innovation au Canada

Annexe 2 : Un secteur privé innovant

Dépenses intérieures brutes de recherche-développement du secteur des entreprises (DIRDE) et intensité des DIRDE au Canada

Figure 2A : dirde et intensité des dirde au Canada, de 2000 à 2015

Diagramme en barres des DIRDE et intensité des DIRDE au Canada, de 2000 à 2015, en milliards de dollars (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Sources : Statistique Canada, Tableau 358-0024 (consulté le 16 juillet 2015); OCDE, Principaux indicateurs de la science et de la technologie, janvier 2015.

Description de la figure 2A

Depuis bientôt 10 ans, il se produit une diminution générale des dépenses intérieures de recherche-développement du secteur des entreprises (dirde) au Canada. Comme le mentionne le chapitre 2, de 2006 à 2015, les dirde ont chuté de plus d'un milliard de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 6 %. Même si les dirde s'élevaient à 16,894 milliards de dollars en 2011, elles ont commencé à diminuer progressivement en 2012 pour se chiffrer à 15,462 milliards en 2015.

Le pourcentage d'entreprises au Canada qui exécutent des activités de R-D (à savoir le taux de participation à la R-D) est demeuré stable depuis 2006, se situant toujours à 2,2 % en 2012 (année la plus récente pour laquelle les données étaient disponibles). Les entreprises manufacturières affichaient un taux de participation à la R-D bien plus élevé que les entreprises de services (17,3 % contre 1,6 %). Pourtant, bon nombre d'industries manufacturières ont connu une baisse du taux de participation à la R-D de 2006 à 2012, dont l'industrie pharmaceutique (50,6 % en 2006 contre 47,5 % en 2012) et l'industrie du matériel de communication (55,7 % en 2006 contre 52,3 % en 2012)42. De manière générale, le taux de participation à la R-D des entreprises manufacturières a diminué d'environ 1 % de 2006 à 2012. À l'inverse, le taux de participation des entreprises de services a augmenté d'environ 2 %.

Parmi les industries de services, l'industrie des services de recherche et de développement scientifiques enregistrait le plus haut taux de participation à la R-D (41 % en 2011), suivie de l'industrie de la conception de systèmes informatiques et des services connexes (12,5 %) et des industries de l'information et de la culture (10,3 %). Le taux de participation était beaucoup plus faible chez les autres industries de services, notamment celles qui sont importantes pour l'économie canadienne, comme l'industrie des finances, de l'assurance et de l'immobilier (0,6 %).

Innovation portant sur des produits et des procédés au Canada, par industrie

Figure 2B-1 : Innovation en matière de produits, par industrie

Diagramme en barres de l'innovation en matière de produits, par industrie, en pourcentage d'entreprises recensées (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source : Statistique Canada, Tableau 358-0221 (consulté le 20 octobre 2014).

Remarque : * Les données de 2007 à 2009 ne sont pas fiables.
** Les données de 2010 à 2012 ne sont pas fiables.

Description de la figure 2B-1

Même si le chapitre 2 propose une comparaison internationale de l'introduction d'innovations ayant trait à des produits et des procédés, les données de la présente annexe décrivent plus en détail le rendement de diverses industries au Canada, selon l'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) de Statistique Canada. Cette enquête a été réalisée deux fois, d'abord pour recenser les innovations introduites durant la période de 2007 à 2009, puis pour dénombrer les innovations introduites entre 2010 et 2012.

Bien que l'investissement des entreprises dans la R-D soit indispensable, les données sur les dirde ne font pas forcément état de toutes les entreprises innovantes du Canada, car la R-D n'est pas toujours essentielle à la production de l'innovation. Certaines des entreprises les plus innovantes au monde ne sont pas celles qui investissent le plus en R-D43. Même si 2,2 % de toutes les entreprises canadiennes ont exécuté des activités de R-D en 201244, 35,1 % des entreprises ayant participé à l'EISE ont déclaré avoir introduit une innovation ayant trait à des produits entre 2010 et 2012 (une légère hausse par rapport à 34,8 % entre 2007 et 2009), et 29 % ont dit avoir introduit une innovation visant des procédés (une diminution par rapport à 33,5 %)45.

Figure 2B-2 : Innovation en matière de procédés, par industrie

Diagramme en barres de l'innovation en matière de procédés, par industrie, en pourcentage d'entreprises recensées (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source : Statistique Canada, Tableau 358-0221 (consulté le 20 octobre 2014).

Remarque : * Les données de 2007 à 2009 ne sont pas fiables.
** Les données de 2010 à 2012 ne sont pas fiables.

Description de la figure 2B-2

Au Canada, le pourcentage d'entreprises ayant introduit une innovation varie considérablement selon l'industrie. Certaines industries sont axées sur l'innovation de produits, et d'autres, sur l'innovation de procédés. Le rendement de plusieurs industries quant à l'introduction d'innovations de produits et de procédés a diminué de 2007 à 2009 et de 2010 à 2012, y compris dans les industries manufacturières, les industries de l'information et de la culture, l'industrie du commerce de gros et les industries du transport et de l'entreposage. Au cours de ces deux périodes, le pourcentage d'entreprises ayant introduit une innovation ayant trait à des procédés a baissé dans presque toutes les industries.

Beaucoup considèrent que les industries des ressources naturelles sont sûrement très innovantes, sans toutefois être prises en compte dans les indicateurs liés à la R-D. Or, dans les industries de l'extraction minière, de l'exploitation en carrière et de l'extraction de pétrole et de gaz, environ le quart des entreprises ont déclaré avoir introduit une innovation portant sur des produits ou des procédés entre 2010 et 2012. Cette proportion est inférieure au pourcentage relevé pour l'ensemble des entreprises recensées au Canada. Les industries qui ont affirmé avoir introduit des innovations visant des produits et des procédés dans une proportion supérieure à celle rapportée pour toutes les entreprises au Canada œuvrent souvent dans le secteur des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques, dans le secteur manufacturier, et dans les secteurs de l'information et de la culture.

Comparaison internationale de la variation de la productivité totale des facteurs

Figure 2C : Comparaison internationale de la variation de la productivité totale des facteurs, de 1995 à 2013

Diagramme en barres de la comparaison internationale de la variation de la productivité totale des facteurs, de 1995 à 2013 (pourcentage) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source : OCDE, Croissance du PIB par tête, de la productivité et des CUM (consulté le 22 octobre 2015).

Description de la figure 2C

Comparaison internationale de la part de marché à l'exportation dans les industries de R-D, 2013

Figure 2D : Comparaison internationale de la part de marché à l'exportation dans les industries de R-D, 2013

Diagramme en barre de la comparaison internationale de la part de marché à l'exportation dans les industries de R-D pour l'année 2013 (pourcentage) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source : OCDE, Principaux indicateurs de la science et de la technologie, Janvier 2015.

Description de la figure 2D


42 Statistique Canada, Recherche et développement industriels : perspective, no 88-202-X au catalogue, 2013; Statistique Canada, Recherche et développement industriels : perspective, no 88-202-X au catalogue, 2015. Retour au texte

43 Strategy&, The Top Innovators and Spenders, 2015. Retour au texte

44 Statistique Canada, Recherche et développement industriels : perspective, no 88-202-X au catalogue, 2015. Retour au texte

45 Comme l'EISE exclut les entreprises comptant moins de 20 employés, il se peut que les données ne représentent pas certaines entreprises non innovantes. Par conséquent, le pourcentage total des entreprises innovantes au Canada est probablement plus faible que le pourcentage révélé dans l'enquête. Retour au texte