State of the Nation 2014

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation System: Canada's Innovation Challenges and Opportunities

Annex 4: Talented people

Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC)

As noted in Chapter 4, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD's) PIAAC provides internationally comparable measures of literacy, numeracy and problem solving in technology-rich environments for adults 16 to 65 years of age. The data show that Canada achieved the OECD average in literacy, with an average score of 273.5, and just below the OECD average in numeracy, with an average score of 265.5.

On the problem solving in technology-rich environments scale, 37 percent of Canadians surveyed scored at the highest levels, above the OECD average of 34 percent. Within Canada, this held true for all provinces and territories, except Nunavut (11 percent) and Newfoundland and Labrador (29 percent). Other countries scoring above the OECD average included Sweden (44 percent), Netherlands (44 percent), Finland (42 percent), Norway (41 percent) and Australia (38 percent). Countries scoring below the OECD average included the United States (31 percent), Korea (30 percent) and Ireland (25 percent).

Figure 4A-1: Literacy — Comparative Distribution of Proficiency Levels of the Population Aged 16 to 65 Years, Countries, Provinces and Territories, 2012

Bar chart of literacy — Comparative distribution of proficiency levels of the population aged 16 to 65 years, countries, provinces and territories, 2012 (the long description is located below the image)

Sources: OECD, Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies, 2012; and Statistics Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, Skills in Canada: First Results from the Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC), Catalogue no. 89-555-X, 2013.

Description of figure 4A-1

Figure 4A-2: Numeracy — Comparative Distribution of Proficiency Levels of the Population Aged 16 to 65 Years, Countries, Provinces and Territories, 2012

Bar chart of numeracy — Comparative distribution of proficiency levels of the population aged 16 to 65 years, countries, provinces and territories, 2012 (the long description is located below the image)

Sources: OECD, Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies, 2012; and Statistics Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, Skills in Canada: First Results from the Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC), Catalogue no. 89-555-X, 2013.

Description of figure 4A-2

Figure 4A-3: Problem Solving in Technology-Rich Environments — Comparative Distribution of Proficiency Levels of the Population Aged 16 to 65 Years, Countries, Provinces and Territories, 2012

Bar chart of problem solving in technology-rich environments — Comparative distribution of proficiency levels of the population aged 16 to 65 years, countries, provinces and territories, 2012 (the long description is located below the image)

Sources: OECD, Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies, 2012; and Statistics Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, Skills in Canada: First Results from the Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC), Catalogue no. 89-555-X, 2013.

Description of figure 4A-3

Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA)

A more in-depth analysis of the PISA data reported in Chapter 4 shows that, among Canadian students, 21.9 percent attained the highest levels in one of the three assessment areas (reading, math and science) and can thus be called "top performers" in that area. Fewer (6.5 percent) are academic "all-rounders," students who achieve the highest proficiency in all three areas. With these results, Canada compares well with other countries. Eleven of 65 economies that participated in the PISA had more "top performers" than Canada (Shanghai-China, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, Korea, Japan, Liechtenstein, Macao-China, Finland, Netherlands and Belgium). For each of these economies, except Japan, "top performers" were concentrated only in math. Eight economies (Shanghai-China, Singapore, Japan, Hong Kong-China, Korea, New Zealand, Australia and Finland) had more "all-rounders" than Canada.

As indicated in Chapter 4, notable gender differences exist in student performance. Across OECD countries, girls outperform boys in reading by an average of 38 points; in Canada, the difference is 35 points. In science, girls outperform boys by one point across the OECD and by three points in Canada. Conversely, boys outperform girls in mathematics by 11 points across OECD countries and by 10 points in Canada.

Table 4A: Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), 2012 (Math)
Math
Country 2009 Score (Rank) 2012 Score (Rank)
Shanghai-China 600 (1) 613 (1)
Singapore 562 (2) 573 (2)
Hong Kong-China 555 (3) 561 (3)
Chinese Taipei 543 (5) 560 (4)
Korea 546 (4) 554 (5)
Macao-China 525 (20) 538 (6)
Japan 529 (9) 536 (7)
Liechtenstein 536 (7) 535 (8)
Switzerland 534 (8) 531 (9)
Netherlands 526 (11) 523 (10)
Estonia 512 (16) 521 (11)
Finland 540 (6) 519 (12)
Canada 527 (10) 518 (13)
Poland 495 (24) 517 (14)
Belgium 515 (13) 515 (15)
Germany 513 (15) 514 (16)
Austria - 505 (17)
Australia 514 (14) 504 (18)
Ireland 487 (31) 502 (19)
Slovenia 501 (19) 501 (20)
Denmark 503 (18) 500 (21)
New Zealand 519 (12) 500 (22)
Iceland 507 (17) 493 (26)
United States 487 (30) 481 (35)

Source: OECD, PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do — Student Performance in Mathematics, Reading and Science, Volume I, Revised Edition, February 2014.

Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), 2012 (Reading)
Reading
Country 2009 Score (Rank) 2012 Score (Rank)
Shanghai-China 556 (1) 570 (1)
Hong Kong-China 533 (4) 545 (2)
Singapore 526 (5) 542 (3)
Japan 520 (8) 538 (4)
Korea 539 (2) 536 (5)
Finland 536 (3) 524 (6)
Ireland 496 (21) 523 (7)
Canada 524 (6) 523 (8)
Chinese Taipei 495 (23) 523 (9)
Poland 500 (15) 518 (10)
Estonia 501 (13) 516 (11)
Liechtenstein 499 (18) 516 (12)
New Zealand 521 (7) 512 (13)
Australia 515 (9) 512 (14)
Netherlands 508 (10) 511 (15)
Belgium 506 (11) 509 (16)
Switzerland 500 (14) 509 (17)
Macao-China 487 (28) 509 (18)
Germany 497 (20) 508 (19)
France 496 (22) 505 (20)
Norway 503 (12) 504 (21)
United States 500 (17) 498 (23)
Sweden 497 (19) 483 (35)
Iceland 500 (16) 483 (36)

Source: OECD, PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do — Student Performance in Mathematics, Reading and Science, Volume I, Revised Edition, February 2014.

Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), 2012 (Science)
Science
Country 2009 Score (Rank) 2012 Score (Rank)
Shanghai-China 575 (1) 580 (1)
Hong Kong-China 549 (3) 555 (2)
Singapore 542 (4) 551 (3)
Japan 539 (5) 547 (4)
Finland 554 (2) 545 (5)
Estonia 528 (9) 541 (6)
Korea 538 (6) 538 (7)
Poland 508 (19) 526 (8)
Canada 529 (8) 525 (9)
Liechtenstein 520 (13) 525 (10)
Germany 520 (12) 524 (11)
Chinese Taipei 520 (14) 523 (12)
Netherlands 522 (11) 522 (13)
Ireland 508 (20) 522 (14)
Australia 527 (10) 521 (15)
Macao-China 511 (18) 521 (16)
New Zealand 532 (7) 516 (17)
Switzerland 517 (15) 515(18)
Slovenia 512 (17) 514 (19)
United Kingdom 514 (16) 514 (20)
United States 502 (23) 497 (27)

Source: OECD, PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do — Student Performance in Mathematics, Reading and Science, Volume I, Revised Edition, February 2014.

S

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'état des lieux en 2014

Le système des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation au Canada : Défis et occasions en matière d'innovation au Canada

Annexe 4 : Des personnes talentueuses

Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA)

Comme le mentionne le chapitre 4, le PEICA de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) fournit des mesures de comparaison internationale des compétences en littératie, en numératie et en résolution de problèmes dans un environnement hautement technologique chez les personnes de 16 à 65 ans. Les données montrent que les Canadiens ont obtenu la moyenne de l'OCDE en littératie (note moyenne de 273,5) et se situent tout juste sous la moyenne de l'OCDE en numératie (note moyenne de 265,5).

Quant à la résolution de problèmes dans un environnement hautement technologique, 37 % des Canadiens recensés ont obtenu d'excellents résultats (supérieurs de 34 % à la moyenne de l'OCDE). Cette statistique vaut pour l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires canadiens, à l'exception du Nunavut (11 %) et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (29 %). Parmi les autres pays où les résultats étaient supérieurs à la moyenne de l'OCDE, citons la Suède (44 %), les Pays-Bas (44 %), la Finlande (42 %), la Norvège (41 %) et l'Australie (38 %). Au nombre des pays où les résultats étaient inférieurs à la moyenne de l'OCDE figurent les États-Unis (31 %), la Corée (30 %) et l'Irlande (25 %).

Figure 4A-1 : Littératie dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, en 2012

Diagramme en barres de la littératie dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, pour l'année 2012 (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Sources: Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes, 2012; Statistique Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada et Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada), Les compétences au Canada : Premiers résultats du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA), no 89-555-X au catalogue, 2013.

Description de la figure 4A-1

Figure 4A-2 : Numératie dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, en 2012

Diagramme en barres de la numératie dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, pour l'année 2012 (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Sources: Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes, 2012; Statistique Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada et Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada), Les compétences au Canada : Premiers résultats du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA), no 89-555-X au catalogue, 2013.

Description de la figure 4A-2

Figure 4A-3 : Résolution de problèmes dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, en 2012

Diagramme en barres de la résolution de problèmes dans un environnement hautement technologique – Répartitions comparatives des niveaux de compétence des personnes de 16 à 65 ans, par pays, province et territoire, pour l'année 2012 (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Sources : OCDE, Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes, 2012; Statistique Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada et Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada), Les compétences au Canada : Premiers résultats du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA), no 89-555-X au catalogue, 2013.

Description de la figure 4A-3

Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA)

Une analyse approfondie des données du PISA présentée au chapitre 4 révèle que 21,9 % des élèves canadiens ont obtenu d'excellents résultats dans l'un des trois domaines d'évaluation (compréhension de l'écrit, mathématiques et sciences) et sont donc considérés comme les élèves les plus performants dans cette catégorie. Dans une proportion plus faible, 6,5 % des élèves canadiens ont obtenu des résultats remarquables dans les trois domaines et sont donc considérés comme polyvalents. Le Canada fait donc bonne figure par rapport aux autres pays. Onze des 65 pays ayant participé au PISA comptaient davantage d'élèves les plus performants que le Canada : Shanghai (Chine), Singapour, le Taipei chinois, Hong Kong (Chine), la Corée, le Japon, le Liechtenstein, Macao (Chine), la Finlande, les Pays-Bas et la Belgique. Dans chacun de ces pays, sauf au Japon, les élèves les plus performants excellaient en mathématiques. Huit pays comptaient plus d'élèves polyvalents que le Canada : Shanghai (Chine), Singapour, le Japon, Hong Kong (Chine), la Corée, la Nouvelle-Zélande, l'Australie et la Finlande.

Comme le décrit le chapitre 4, le rendement des élèves varie beaucoup selon le sexe. Dans les pays de l'OCDE, les filles devancent les garçons de 38 points en compréhension de l'écrit; au Canada, l'écart est de 35 points. En sciences, les filles devancent les garçons d'un point dans les pays de l'OCDE et de trois points au Canada. Inversement, en mathématiques, les garçons devancent les filles de 11 points dans les pays de l'OCDE et de 10 points au Canada.

Tableau 4A : Programme international pour le suivi des acquis (PISA) des élèves en 2012 (Mathématiques)
Mathématiques
Pays 2009 2012
Shanghai (Chine) 600 (1) 613 (1)
Singapore 562 (2) 573 (2)
Hong Kong (Chine) 555 (3) 561 (3)
Taipei chinois 543 (5) 560 (4)
Corée 546 (4) 554 (5)
Macao (Chine) 525 (20) 538 (6)
Japon 529 (9) 536 (7)
Liechtenstein 536 (7) 535 (8)
Suisse 534 (8) 531 (9)
Pays-Bas 526 (11) 523 (10)
Estonie 512 (16) 521 (11)
Finlande 540 (6) 519 (12)
Canada 527 (10) 518 (13)
Pologne 495 (24) 517 (14)
Belgique 515 (13) 515 (15)
Allemagne 513 (15) 514 (16)
Autriche - 505 (17)
Australie 514 (14) 504 (18)
Irlande 487 (31) 502 (19)
Slovénie 501 (19) 501 (20)
Danemark 503 (18) 500 (21)
Nouvelle-Zélande 519 (12) 500 (22)
Islande 507 (17) 493 (26)
États-Unis 487 (30) 481 (35)

Source : OCDE, Résultats du PISA 2012 : Savoirs et savoir-faire des élèves : Performance des élèves en mathématiques, en compréhension de l'écrit et en sciences, volume I, version révisée, février 2014.

Tableau 4A : Programme international pour le suivi des acquis (PISA) des élèves en 2012 (Compréhension de l'écrit)
Compréhension de l'écrit
Pays 2009 2012
Shanghai (Chine) 556 (1) 570 (1)
Hong Kong (Chine) 533 (4) 545 (2)
Singapore 526 (5) 542 (3)
Japon 520 (8) 538 (4)
Corée 539 (2) 536 (5)
Finlande 536 (3) 524 (6)
Irlande 496 (21) 523 (7)
Canada 524 (6) 523 (8)
Taipei chinois 495 (23) 523 (9)
Pologne 500 (15) 518 (10)
Estonie 501 (13) 516 (11)
Liechtenstein 499 (18) 516 (12)
Nouvelle-Zélande 521 (7) 512 (13)
Australie 515 (9) 512 (12)
Pays-Bas 508 (10) 511 (13)
Belgique 506 (11) 509 (14)
Suisse 500 (14) 509 (15)
Macao (Chine) 487 (28) 509 (16)
Allemagne 497 (20) 508 (17)
France 496 (22) 505 (18)
Norvège 503 (12) 504 (19)
États-Unis 500 (17) 498 (21)
Suède 497 (19) 483 (35)
Islande 500 (16) 483 (36)

Source : OCDE, Résultats du PISA 2012 : Savoirs et savoir-faire des élèves : Performance des élèves en mathématiques, en compréhension de l'écrit et en sciences, volume I, version révisée, février 2014.

Tableau 4A : Programme international pour le suivi des acquis (PISA) des élèves en 2012 (Sciences)
Sciences
Pays 2009 2012
Shanghai (Chine) 575 (1) 580 (1)
Hong Kong (Chine) 549 (3) 555 (2)
Singapore 542 (4) 551 (3)
Japon 539 (5) 547 (4)
Finlande 554 (2) 545 (5)
Estonie 52 (9) 541 (6)
Corée 538 (6) 538 (7)
Pologne 508 (19) 526 (8)
Canada 529 (8) 525 (9)
Liechtenstein 520 (13) 525 (10)
Allemagne 520 (12) 524 (11)
Taipei chinois 520 (14) 523 (12)
Pays-Bas 522 (11) 522 (13)
Irlande 508 (20) 522 (14)
Australie 527 (10) 521 (15)
Macao (Chine) 511 (18) 521 (16)
Nouvelle-Zélande 532 (7) 516 (17)
Suisse 517 (15) 515(18)
Slovénie 512 (17) 514 (19)
Royaume-Uni 514 (16) 514 (20)
États-Unis 502 (23) 497 (27)

Source : OCDE, Résultats du PISA 2012 : Savoirs et savoir-faire des élèves : Performance des élèves en mathématiques, en compréhension de l'écrit et en sciences, volume I, version révisée, février 2014.